Collection List COMPLETE!

My project is finally complete.  There were a couple of days I didn’t work on it at all, otherwise I probably would have finished sooner.  One thing I realized in doing this project is that I have all kinds of books!  Everything from coffee table books, children’s books, history books, to contemporary fiction and the classics.  I love having a variety because I’ll never know what I’m in the mood to read until I’m in it.  Unlike some people who can make a list of books they want to read and just plow right through it, I can’t.  I have to be in the mood to read certain genres.  If I even attempt to read something I don’t feel like reading, that’s all it becomes: an attempt.  I get bored with it and chances are I will never, ever finish it.  My most recent example is when I started reading The Lady in the Tower by Allison Weir.  I LOVE history books and I love reading all about Henry VIII and his six wives but not long after I started I lost my history-reading mood.  I don’t even think I read 100 pages.  It has no reflection on the subject matter or the author.  I’ve read a few of her books and have loved every single one.  I just lost that particular mood.  So it’s great for me to have so many different types of books.  I’ll always have something to read!  And if not, I live in a small town so the public library is only 2 miles away!

As I was making my list, I made sure to keep each box of books separate.  I always get so frustrated when I see a box labeled BOOKS but have no idea what books are in there.  So you have to heave the box out and dig through the books to see what’s inside.  So now I don’t have to worry about that!  All of the boxes are recycled (apple boxes and even an aquarium box) so I was able to categorize each list by the name of the product on the box!  This system is great!  After my list was complete I was looking for my next book when I finish The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson, and I was able to find it and which box it was in immediately!

Ok I’ve been going on and on.  Time to reveal the grand total of my book collection………………………………………. 471 (maybe more – I sometimes borrow books to my mom and grandma and I can’t remember if they have any of mine right now).

2 thoughts on “Collection List COMPLETE!

  1. Wow! That’s a pretty impressive number of books. I don’t know if I have that many. Just out of curiosity do you have a favorite book or author you? I’m not sure if you’ve talked about since I just found your blog and just digging into it.

    Like

    • Thanks! I just added 25 more to my collection today! You can find those titles in my latest post. My favorite author is Jane Austen. Favorite book is Mansfield Park followed by Gone With the Wind and Pride & Prejudice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

