Half Price Books Clearance Sale Book Haul

Today was the day of the Half Price Books clearance sale at the MN State Fair Grandstand.  Ethan and I drove up to West St. Paul to meet up with his uncle Gerald to go to MCBA Fallcon that takes place in the Education Building at the State Fair.  So I went to the HPB sale first while they went over to Fallcon.  I like comic books but I like regular books more and couldn’t miss this sale!  I spent quite a few hours at the sale.  IMG_20141004_094421There were rows and rows of books, movies and cds.  I went straight for the books.  The photo kind of sucks.  At the last minute that guy in the middle walked through and I didn’t get a chance to take another one.  But you get the general idea of how packed it was!

I started off with a basket but that quickly filled up within 10 minutes or so.  It got really heavy.  An older gentleman saw me struggling a little and offered his shopping cart to me since he wasn’t using it like he thought he was going to.  So nice of him because I was not ready to be done looking!

IMG_20141004_112211I found lots of books that I wanted but I was trying to be a little more frugal this time.  So I ended up putting some back.  I kind of regret it looking back but oh well.  There will be more opportunities later.

By the time I was ready to check out, the line was completely wrapped all the way around the building.  I was ready to wait forever but it actually moved pretty quickly!  The line weaved through some of the tables so I was able to do some more looking while I waited.  I managed to grab a few more that I had missed on my first time around.  Then when I got close to the checkout lane, some of the employees opened up a cash only station which was lucky for me because I was the first person still waiting in line that was planning on paying cash!

I got 25 books for $37.  They put all my books in a box but I had my backpack along so I tried to fit as many in there as I could so I could still go into Fallcon for a bit.  But I could only fit 10 of the books in there so I decided to just stay outside and wait for the guys to get done.  I didn’t really have any comics that I was looking for this time around so I saved the $8 admission fee.

IMG_20141004_181559 IMG_20141004_181213 IMG_20141004_181159Here is a list of what I came home with:

  • Go Ask Alice – Anonymous
  • The Scarlet Letter – Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • The Awakening – Kate Chopin
  • The Road – Cormac McCarthy
  • The Fountainhead – Ayn Rand
  • The Jane Austen Book Club – Karen Joy Fowler
  • The Red Queen – Philippa Gregory
  • The Last of the Mohicans – James Fenimore Cooper
  • Mademoiselle Boleyn – Robin Maxwell
  • The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  • Caesar’s Women – Colleen McCullough
  • The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
  • Vittorio – Anne Rice
  • Into Thin Air – Jon Krakauer
  • The Boleyn Inheritance – Philippa Gregory
  • The Virgin Blue – Tracy Chevalier
  • Wideacre – Philippa Gregory
  • Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray
  • The Forgotten Garden – Kate Morton
  • The Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follett
  • The Memoirs of Cleopatra – Margaret George
  • The Crimson Petal and the White – Michel Faber
  • Thirst – Christopher Pike
  • Memnoch The Devil – Anne Rice
  • Blood and Cold – Anne Rice
Leave a Reply

