30 Day Book Challenge – Day 8

30 Day Book ChallengeDay 8: Book turned movie and completely desecrated

This one is a no brainer for me.  There is one book turned movie that I absolutely loathe because everything about the movie is AWFUL!  Technically it is a TV mini-series but for the purposes of this post I’m just going to say it’s a movie.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/c/c3/Scarlett_(TV_miniseries).jpg

I am a HUGE Gone With the Wind fan so when I cam across Alexandra Ripley’s sequel, Scarlett, I couldn’t wait to read it.  A lot of people say that the storyline is ridiculous but I have to disagree.  If there was anybody who could accomplish everything in that book, it’s Scarlett O’Hara.

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/pt/d/d3/Scarlett_livro.jpg

I read through that book so fast.  I couldn’t put it down.  All of the new adventures that Scarlett went through just pulled me in.  I couldn’t get enough.  When I found out it was made into a movie (TV mini-series technically) I was so excited to see it.  I was incredibly skeptical when I saw the actors who would be portraying my beloved GWTW characters from 1939.  And my skepticism was well founded.  If I could unsee this movie I would.  How could you possibly have Vivien Leigh as Scarlett O’Hara and then in the sequel pick someone like Joanne Whaley.  Apart from the fact that they both have brown hair there is nothing about them that is similar.   And then you want to choose someone like Timothy Dalton to play Rhett Butler when the world sees Rhett as Clark Gable?

Image result for rhett and scarlett

Image result for timothy dalton joanne whalley

And can you really go from the Ashley Wilkes played by Leslie Howard to an Ashley Wilkes played by the Reverend Camden from 7th Heaven?!?!?  I don’t think so.

Aside from the comparisons to the original 1939 GWTW film, everything about Scarlett was ruined.  I loved the book.  The acting, directing, scripting, etc. was horrible.  Unfortunately, it was produced by Hallmark so it was bound to be pretty bad but I wasn’t expecting it to be that bad!  Before I realized how horrible it was I owned the dvd version.  I ended up selling it on the Amazon marketplace for about $80!  I don’t know who in their right mind would shell out that much for this crappy movie but at least it got it off my hands.  I love GWTW and have a bunch of collectibles but I didn’t want that trash to be associated with my collection.  Good riddance!

So, what book turned movie do you think was completely desecrated?

One thought on “30 Day Book Challenge – Day 8

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

