Book Review: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

IMG_20141011_102157The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

This book is the third and final volume of Stieg Larsson’s Millennium trilogy.  The first two volumes are titled The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl Who Played With Fire.

I had just finished the second volume and wasn’t planning on jumping into the third but it ended on such a huge cliffhanger that I had to continue on.  Unlike the first two volumes, I was immediately drawn into the storyline.  I was wishing that I didn’t have a full time job so I could just stay home and finish reading the whole thing.  I did not want to put it down.  My favorite characters were of course there, Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist.  Larsson also introduced many new characters that would be involved throughout the rest of the story.  For those that haven’t read this series, I don’t want to go too far in depth and give everything away.

Larsson definitely knows how to make the bad guys really bad.  There were so many times that I wanted to reach through the book and strangle somebody!  I’ve always been a fan of the underdog and with everything that has happened to her, Salander definitely falls under that category.  Under impossible circumstances she climbs back up and out of awful situations.  Despite being shot three times, including once in the head, she is surviving and hell bent on getting out one way or another.

I love that Blomkvist works like a maniac to bring out the truth about everything.  He never wavers from her side of the story.  He brought together so many different people to help, even though their jobs and lives could have been severely destroyed.

The only part of the book I didn’t really like was the little side story with Erika Berger.  She moves from Millennium to a daily newspaper called SMP (for short) and gets a stalker.  As far as I could gather, the only reason this was even in the book was so that Salander would have a chance to pay back Berger for the help she had given her.  I never really liked Berger’s character much so that doesn’t help either.

So for anyone looking for a good thriller series, I would definitely recommend the Millennium trilogy.  And if you start The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and are bored with it at first, I felt the same way.  Once I got past page 32 (yes I remember that exactly) the storyline started to pick up.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

  1. Ok, you’ve officially changed my mind again. I had the complete series in my cart when I was at the book clearance at the State Fair Grounds (thanks for the heads up!), and for some reason I decided to put them back. Off to the library I suppose!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

