Winter Is Coming

Well, folks, it’s that time of year now!  We’ve got a big snowstorm brewing!  I was really hoping that winter wouldn’t rear it’s ugly head until after my birthday (which is next Tuesday in case you were wondering 😛 ) but this year I’m not so lucky.  In my neck of the woods we’re forecasted to get around 8 inches or so.  YUCK!  And of course the first snow always brings about idiot drivers who seem to have forgotten how to drive in the winter.  Last year I didn’t have any winter boots.  I attempted to order some Sorel boots like the ones I had growing up but alas, they were out of stock by the time I got around to it.  Luckily I was able to get them this year!  I’ll be able to test them out tomorrow and see if they’re as good as they used to be!

1522335_897920763023_61081186099575091_n

My new Sorels! Enzo approves!

I love these boots so much!  I’ve been wearing them around the house all day today.  They fit perfectly and keep my feet nice and toasty warm.  Plus, they’re pretty!

They are the Women’s 1964 Premium LTR boot.  I bought them directly from Sorel.com for $140.

Earlier this fall I went to a craft sale during my town’s annual fall festival and ended up finding a few great items for winter.  One of the booths was an alpaca booth.  They had a mama and baby alpaca along for people to pet and see where the products come from.  In a tent they had all kinds of clothing made from their wool.  I got two hats and a scarf.  What was really great was the guy explained to me why alpaca wool was so great.  He said that regular sheep’s wool has barbs on the fibers and that’s why it can be so itchy whereas the alpaca wool fibers are smooth.  Sheep’s wool has lanolin which many people are allergic to (including my dad).  I’ve never been a fan of wool.  But the alpaca wool was soooooooo soft!  He also said that alpaca wool is 10 times warmer because the fibers are hollow, providing more insulation.

From another booth, a woman had made a bunch of mittens from recycled sweaters.  I got two pairs there and a pair for my mom as well.  They are wool on the outside and lined with fleece.

My green recycled sweater mittens, one of my alpaca hats and my alpaca scarf

My green recycled sweater mittens, one of my alpaca hats and my alpaca scarf

As much as I hate winter, well I guess I wouldn’t mind it so much if I didn’t have to commute 5 days a week, I am super excited to make use of my new winter accessories!

And now for the book part of this post….  In my mind, winter is perfect for cozying up with a good book and a cup of cocoa.  I usually get most of my reading done in the winter.  Like most readers, I have a looooooong list of books I want to read this winter so in a way I’m glad that winter is coming.  There are so many books that I want to reread and a bunch of new (well new to me anyways) that I want to read.  Some of the books on my winter to-read list include: The White Queen by Philippa Gregory, Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer, The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton, and reread Incendiary by Amy A. Bartol, Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, and Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

Are you ready for winter?  What’s your favorite reading setup for winter?  What books are on your winter to-read list?

5 thoughts on “Winter Is Coming

  1. My wife also loves her Sorel boots, and being a man who believes in always being prepared for the worst, I can report that they held up quite well for her last winter. I’m also a massive reader, and though I have many books on the docket for this winter I’m wondering if you would provide me with a suggestion for a book you think everyone ought to read. Too often I fall victim to my own preference for books and I’d like to step out of my box. have a suggestion? Something that emboldens your passions?

    Like

    • Hmm let’s see… I’ll give you a few in case you’ve read some of them already. I have a big love for Gone With The Wind, so I would recommend that or if you have read that then I recommend Rhett Butler’s People by Donald McCaig. I love fantasy as well and one of the best series I’ve ever read in that genre is The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan starting with The Eye of the World. It’s similar to Lord of the Rings in a way. A few other options worth looking into are:
      Empire Falls – Richard Russo
      The Solace of Leaving Early – Haven Kimmel
      The Reader – Bernhard Schlink
      Giants in the Earth – O.E. Rolvaag

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much for these wonderful recommendations! I’ve been meaning to read Robert Jordan for years so I am thoroughly excited by your suggestions. I’ll make sure to list out your others and tackle them through the next few years. Have you ever read Patrick Rothfuss? If you need a suggestion for new fantasy I highly recommend it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

