Birthday Book Haul

IMG_20141121_191739Today provided the perfect opportunity to hit up Half Price Books on my way home from work.  I was originally going tomorrow with my husband on the way home from our day at Mall of America but decided to do it today instead.  He was okay with that because he knows how long I spend there.  I received some money for my birthday and since I am on the HPB email list I got a 15% off coupon for my birthday!  So I was ready for a little birthday book haul!  As usual I had more in my basket that I decided not to get.  The one thing that totally slipped my mind was the book list I submitted for The Broke and the Bookish’s secret santa.  I was looking at the list I got for my person but totally forgot about what books I had put on my own list.  I thought of it as I was driving home and realized that I had just purchased a book that was on that list.  Oops!

So here are the books from today’s haul:

  1. The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton
  2. Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
  3. Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman (my oops purchase)
  4. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  5. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
  6. The Distant Hours by Kate Morton
  7. Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler
  8. Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight
  9. Me and Mr. Darcy by Alexandra Potter
  10. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

All of these except #7 and #9 are books I have wanted to read for quite some time.  Those two were impulse purchases because I love anything and everything Jane Austen.

Now my only problem is finding space on my bookshelves for these new acquisitions!

IMG_20141121_191601

2 thoughts on “Birthday Book Haul

  1. Half Price Books is a dangerous, wonderful place, where you go in to browse or buy just one book… and emerge with a dozen! But it’s so nice to tell yourself you got two–or three with a sale–books for the price of one. 🙂

    Like

    • Half Price Books is definitely my #1 weakness when it comes to spending money. I never seem to walk out of there without buying at least 5 books. So much better than paying full price for books though! I love finding awesome bargains there. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

