Book Review: The Witch of Painted Sorrows by M.J. Rose

22608210

I received this ARC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Witch of Painted Sorrows by M.J. Rose

Expected Publication: March 17, 2015 by Atria Books

When I was browsing through titles on NetGalley I came across this book and was immediately drawn to the title and cover image.  I love reading books that involve witchcraft so I felt like this would be a perfect read for me.  When I read the summary I knew for sure that I wanted to read it!

Summary: Sandrine flees her home in New York after her father dies to escape her husband.  She goes to her grandmother in Paris but does not find her at her home that Sandrine knew and where her father grew up.  She and her grandmother grieve the loss of her father together all the while Sandrine feels that her grandmother is not being honest with her about why she is not living in her home.  She follows her one day and sees her grandmother go into the house with a young man.  Her grandmother leaves but the young man does not.  Sandrine feels the urge to know the truth about what is going on.  The young man is Julien Duplessi, an architect that her grandmother had hired to turn her home into a museum!  Her grandmother, and all of her female ancestors back to the original, were famous courtesans.  La Lune was the first and Sandrine was very interested in learning more about her.  Her grandmother refused to tell her anything and was very mysterious about the whole thing.  As Sandrine begins to unlock the secrets surrounding La Lune, strange things begin to happen.   People die, Sandrine’s grandmother goes mad, and Sandrine finds herself able to paint extremely well.  And this story would not be complete without art, witchcraft and dabblings in the occult.  What will happen to Sandrine and those she loves?

I really enjoyed this book!  At first I felt like it was moving a little slowly and Sandrine was kind of whiny and annoying.  But the more I read, the more I wanted to read.  Slowly Sandrine grew out of her whiny, annoying phase and became an interesting character.  Every time Sandrine learned more about her ancestor, La Lune, I got excited… Feeling almost as though I was connected to the story somehow.  I could visualize everything that was happening.  The scene at the top of the Eiffel Tower really had my heart pounding!  I am terrified of heights, so much so that when I was in Paris in 2009 I was content to stand on the ground and observe the Eiffel Tower from there… no way was I going up there!  I’ve always had a big interest in witchcraft and the occult so the parts with Monsieur Dujols and his library were so intriguing to me!

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in witchcraft, the occult, art or late 19th century Paris.  I give this book 4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

