Book Review: Ticker by Lisa Mantchev

22082578I received this ARC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Published: December 1, 2014 by Skyscape

Summary: Penny Farthing nearly dies and would have unless surgeon Calvin Warwick hadn’t managed to implant a brass “Ticker” into her chest.  With this new implanted mechanical heart, she becomes the first of the “Augmented.”  Unfortunately Penny was the not the first patient that Warwick attempted this on and many, many people have died during his experiments.  He is put on trial for mass murder.  On the last day of the trial, Penny’s family’s factory is bombed and her parents disappear, leaving her and her brother to deal with a ransom note they receive.  The kidnappers want all of their research on Augmentation in exchange for their parents’ release.  They team up with a few friends to try and save the day.

Review: I really did not like this book at all.  I am not, nor have I ever been a fan of steampunk… this is all that was to me.  And with all of the various pieces of machinery that don’t exactly exist in this world, one would expect an author to explain what something is.  I felt like I didn’t know what half of the things were so I was forced to guess.  I felt like that took away from the story completely.  I did not enjoy this book and I don’t know anyone that would.  I would not recommend this book to family or friends.

One out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

