Book Review: A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson

9791

Summary: Bill Bryson recounts 5 months spent hiking the Appalachian Trail.  Pretty short summary but it is filled with humor and when he is not writing about his personal experiences he provides interesting information and anecdotes regarding the trail’s history.

Review: I have been wanting to read this book for YEARS!  I was lucky enough to receive it as a gift from my awesome secret Santa this year.  I was so excited to read it.  It is also the first book I will be checking off on my 2015 TBR Pile Challenge.  I just have to say how much I loved this book.  So many times I found myself laughing out loud or wanting to read a portion of it to my husband.  I was also very interested in the history of the trail.  One thing that really interested me was the fact that the trail seems to be always changing.  Rerouted due to some new road or other being built.  And how there never seems to be a consensus on how long the trail actually is.  I guess part of that can be attributed to the fact that it is changing so much.  Hearing all of his experiences and the people he met on the trail made me a little jealous.  There was nothing else I wanted to do besides load up a pack and go hit the trail!  Of course I am not in shape and don’t have the money for all the hiking equipment so for now I’ll just have to make do with the easier state park trails in my area (well, when winter is gone anyways).  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the great outdoors, hiking or humorous travel accounts.

Five out of five stars.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson

  1. Pingback: 2015 TBR Pile Challenge | The Worn Bookmark

    • Hi! Glad you liked it. The book was definitely great! I love hiking too but in Southern MN there aren’t a lot of exciting areas… Mostly just flat prairies or woodland areas. I would love to live in a place with awesome hiking nearby. The best hiking in my state is way up north so I don’t get to do it often.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Month In Review: January 2015 | The Worn Bookmark

  3. Pingback: The Worn Bookmark’s 1st Blogiversary! | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

