The Ten Book Challenge Tag

I came across this book tag on A Kernal of Nonsense today and decided I wanted to play along.  I’ve loved reading for as long as I can remember so this might be a little difficult to come up with only ten.

Here are the rules:

“List 10 books that have stayed with you in some way. Do not take more than a few minutes and do not think too hard. They do not have to be the “right” books or great works of literature, just ones that have affected you in some way. Paste these instructions and tag 10 friends, including me, so I can see your list.”

toptenchallengetag2

1.  Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – One of my favorite books and one of the first “classics” that I read on my own time and not assigned in school.  My first Jane Austen that brought about my extreme love of Jane Austen.

2.  Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery – one of my favorite books growing up.  I always wanted to be just like Anne Shirley… in fact, most days I still do!

3.  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – The beginning of something completely wonderful.  My love of Harry Potter is deep and never ending.

4.  The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien – My first fantasy book and most definitely not the last.  I grew to love fantasy books thanks to J.R.R. Tolkien and the awesome Lord of the Rings trilogy.

toptenchallengetag1

5.  Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer – My desperate desire to travel to Alaska stems from reading this book.

6.  In Cold Blood by Truman Capote – My first true crime novel.  This book totally creeped me out and I loved every minute of it.

7.  Number the Stars by Lois Lowry – An early favorite of mine.  Sparked my interest in the Holocaust and WWII.

8.  Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – My first super long book.  Love love love Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler.

toptenchallengetag3

9.  The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan – The first book in The Wheel of Time series (to be later finished by Brandon Sanderson after Robert Jordan’s death) is probably my favorite fantasy series of all times.  It took me 10+ years to get through all 14 books (15 if you include the prequel).

10.  Dear America: A Journey to the New World – I think this was the first Dear America book I read growing up and I loved them.  Definitely helped spark my interest in history (I majored in history in college).

What ten books have stayed with you over the years?

I am tagging any of my fellow bloggers who would like to play along!

4 thoughts on “The Ten Book Challenge Tag

    • I definitely agree that the classics I read outside of school had a bigger impact than those assigned in school. I still like some of those but there is just something about picking out your own book that is a couple hundred years old. So many people before me have read these and hopefully many people after me… Love it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

