Book Review: California by Edan Lepucki

18774020

Summary from Goodreads: The world Cal and Frida have always known is gone, and they’ve left the crumbling city of Los Angeles far behind them. They now live in a shack in the wilderness, working side-by-side to make their days tolerable despite the isolation and hardships they face. Consumed by fear of the future and mourning for a past they can’t reclaim, they seek comfort and solace in one other. But the tentative existence they’ve built for themselves is thrown into doubt when Frida finds out she’s pregnant.

Terrified of the unknown but unsure of their ability to raise a child alone, Cal and Frida set out for the nearest settlement, a guarded and paranoid community with dark secrets. These people can offer them security, but Cal and Frida soon realize this community poses its own dangers. In this unfamiliar world, where everything and everyone can be perceived as a threat, the couple must quickly decide whom to trust.

Review: I have been wanting to read this book ever since I came across it last year after it was released.  My brother and his fiance gave it to me for my birthday which I was so excited about!  When I first started it I thought it was a little slow moving.  I wasn’t all that interested in the scenes that took place at Plank.  But when Frida and Cal made it to the spikes things really started to get interesting!  For a couple who had been alone together for the last six months after only neighbors died, it was interesting seeing them come into contact with so many people.  When Cal and Frida began to find out more and more about The Land, things were revealed that blew my mind.  I felt that this was a very realistic post-apocalyptic story.  I was a little bummed out with the ending.  It seemed incomplete and abrupt.  I still really enjoyed reading this book though.

Four out of five stars.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: California by Edan Lepucki

  1. This is on my to read list!! As are about 96% of the other books you’re reading. LOL Seriously, you have no idea how jealous I am when I scroll thru my instagram feed and you’re starting another book I see collecting dust on my shelf.

    I. Need. A. Reading. Retreat. *lights candle at the altar of Jane Austen*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 72 HR Readathon Recap | The Worn Bookmark

  3. Pingback: Month In Review: January 2015 | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

