Book Review: My Daylight Monsters by Sarah Dalton

18626145

I received this ebook through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Daylight Monsters by Sarah Dalton

Published: October 4, 2013

Pages: 116

Goodreads Summary: When Mary’s psychiatrist advises a short stay at a psychiatric unit, her worst nightmares are confirmed. How can she get better in a place that fills her with dread? When she meets the other patients, she begins to gather some hope, until she realises that the death toll in the hospital is rising without explanation. Something sinister stalks the corridors and maybe she is the only one who can stop it…

Mary has to confront the Things that she sees if they are to stand a chance. But will she survive a confrontation with death itself?

Review: From the moment I started this novella, I was hooked.  I don’t usually like reading novellas because I feel like they are too short and it is hard to connect to the characters and storyline.  But this one did not feel rushed or incomplete. I’ve always had a fascination with mental institutions and it was fun to see an author make references to One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest.  There were some parts that also reminded me of Girl, Interrupted.  But this had the element of ghosts and monsters.  It was legitimately creepy and had me a little nervous about what was going to happen.  If you liked either of the two books I just mentioned and you also like paranormal scares, then I would recommend this book to you.  I am also approved for the next book in the series titled, Mary Hades, so I will review that one when I get to it.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: My Daylight Monsters by Sarah Dalton

  1. Pingback: 2015 Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge | The Worn Bookmark

  2. Pingback: Month In Review: February 2015 | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

