Book Review: Haunted by Lynn Carthage

I received this eARC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Haunted by Lynn Carthage

Expected Publication: February 24, 2015 by Kensington Books

Pages: 289

Goodreads Summary: Moving to my stepfather’s English country mansion sounded so promising. But the Arnaud Manor is neglected and unwelcoming, and I get the feeling it isn’t exactly uninhabited. Something wants to hurt us–especially my little sister, Tabby. Okay, so I might be a little sensitive lately. My parents act oblivious to me, my old life is far away in San Francisco, and the gorgeous guy I just met tells me terrible stories about the infamous Madame Arnaud who lived here long ago, and about missing children and vengeful spirits. The kind of stories that are impossible to believe–until you’re living in one of them, fighting to protect everyone you love…

Review: I really enjoyed reading this book.  I just started it this morning and I couldn’t put it down.  From the moment Phoebe and her family arrived at the Arnaud Manor, you get the feeling that there is something wrong with the mansion.  The author does a great job of describing Phoebe’s first impressions and that sense that something is watching her.  This book can get pretty creepy at times.  Madame Arnaud is a terrifying character and when you find out the truth about her…. Whoa.  Not to mention the plot twist regarding Phoebe and Miles.  I would recommend this book to people looking for a good paranormal novel with interesting plot twists.

4/5 stars

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Haunted by Lynn Carthage

  1. Pingback: 2015 Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge | The Worn Bookmark

  2. Pingback: Month In Review: February 2015 | The Worn Bookmark

  3. Pingback: WWW Wednesday – January 13, 2015 | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

