The Bookworm Club – Feb 13, 2015

Hey guys!  Mariella @ Jumbleskine has started a new weekly event that I am excited to participate in!  Every Friday we are supposed to post about a book that we love and want to recommend to others.  Click on the link above to find out all of the “rules” if you want to join in!

386380

This week I am going to post about The Reader by Bernhard Schlink.  I read this book a couple of years ago and fell in love with it.

Here is the Goodreads blurb: For 15-year-old Michael Berg, a chance meeting with an older woman leads to far more than he ever imagined. The woman in question is Hanna, and before long they embark on a passionate, clandestine love affair which leaves Michael both euphoric and confused. For Hanna is not all she seems.

Years later, as a law student observing a trial in Germany, Michael is shocked to realize that the person in the dock is Hanna. The woman he had loved is a criminal. Much about her behaviour during the trial does not make sense. But then suddenly, and terribly, it does – Hanna is not only obliged to answer for a horrible crime, she is also desperately concealing an even deeper secret.


This was such a fascinating book!  The characters are so real and the author’s words just seem to lift off the pages.  Reading this book elicits many different emotions and feelings.  Some of my favorite books come from this book.

“It is hard for me to imagine that I felt good about behaving like that. I also remember that the smallest gesture of affection would bring a lump to my throat, whether it was directed at me or at someone else. Sometimes all it took was a scene in a movie. This juxtaposition of callousness and extreme sensitivity seemed suspicious even to me. ”

And my absolute favorite:

“These are hours without sleep, which is not to say they’re sleepless, because on the contrary, they’re not about lack of anything, they are rich and full. Desires, memories, fears, passions form labyrinths in which we lose and find then lose ourselves again. They are hours where anything is possible, good or bad.”

So that is my choice for this first post for The Bookworm Club.  What books have you really enjoyed and recommend?

2 thoughts on “The Bookworm Club – Feb 13, 2015

  1. Try as I might I could never get into this book. I felt bad (as I do with anything I don’t finish), and somehow that I’d personally offended the author! Sometimes a book just doesn’t work for the time and place you are in so maybe I should give it another try.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Bookworm Club #1 | Jumbleskine

Leave a Reply

