The Ultimate Book Tag!

Earlier today I saw Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek post The Ultimate Book Tag and it looked like a fun bunch of questions so I decided I wanted to post it as well!

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?
No, thank god! My family did a lot of road trips growing up and my favorite thing to do in the car was read. I’ll get to do this next weekend when my hubby and I ride along with my parents to my cousin’s wedding shower in Indiana… a good 7-8 hours!

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?
Hmm that’s a tough one. The author that sticks out the most to me would be Ernest Hemingway. He is so succinct and to the point.

3. Harry Potter series or the Twilight saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.
How is this seriously a question?! Without a doubt, Harry Potter!
• Hogwarts vs. Forks, WA – An awesome castle with magic… sign me up!
• Hermione vs. Bella – An insanely smart witch compared to a whiny klutz…
• It’s Harry Potter… need I say more?
4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books…)?
I generally carry a large purse along with one book, my wallet, phone, chapstick, lotion, a pen, and depending on where I’m going my planner.
5. Do you smell your books?
Yes, every single one. There is nothing better than the smell of a book. New books, old books…
6. Books with or without little illustrations?
Without. I like to leave everything to my imagination. The one exception to this is non-fiction and fiction with fictional worlds… I like to see maps of the fictional worlds that the author creates.
7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?
I would have to say almost any of the 100% romance novels I have on my Kindle that include authors like Barbara Freethy and Robyn Carr.
8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!
It’s not necessarily a funny story but my mom said that when I was really little and she was trying to teach me to read, we would read Blueberries for Sal a lot but the only part that I could “read” was “ker-plunk, ker-plunk” which was the sound effect of Sal putting the blueberries in the pail.
9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?
Not including children’s books it would be The Claddagh Ring: Ireland’s Cherished Symbol of Friendship, Loyalty, and Love by Malachy McCourt.
10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?
Probably Gone With The Wind, War and Peace or some of the Wheel of Time series books.
11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
I’ve attempted to write but have never gotten very far. I tried to do NaNoWriMo last year but ended up quitting part way through because I just struggle with writing dialogue. I would love to be able to make a living as an author but I don’t think that is a very realistic dream for me.
12. When did you get into reading?
I have been into reading for as long as I can remember. My parents have photos of me standing in my play kitchen reading out loud from the phone book. Of course I couldn’t actually read it at the time but I always remember loving to read and going to the library to find new books.
13. What is your favorite classic book?
Mansfield Park by Jane Austen. I am a huge fan of Jane Austen but Mansfield Park is my absolute favorite. It’s not one of the more popular novels by Austen but I love it.
14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?
My best subject was history but I would say that English was probably my second best until college. Then everything I thought I was good at seemed to be not good enough.
15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated… what would you do?
I would probably set it off to the side to take to Half Price Books with me the next time I was planning on going and selling it. Then I would turn around and use whatever money I get from it to buy a new book that I want.
16. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?
I have a habit of rushing to finish writing a post. I often find myself returning to a post to edit it within a minute or two of posting because I forgot to do something.
17. What is your favorite word?
Hmm I think my favorite word would either have to be elixir or ethereal.
18. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above.
I would say I’m a nerd.
19. Vampires or Fairies? Why?
Vampires most definitely. I’m a big sucker for vampires and my favorite vampires are Damon Salvatore, Lestat, and Eric Northman. I’ve never really been a fan of fairies.
20. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
After reading the Premonition series I have to choose Angels. I love Amy A. Bartol’s take on angels.
21. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
Spirits definitely. Werewolves are okay but there’s just something about spirits that I really get interested in.
22. Zombies or Vampires?
I love them both, but Vampires are way better.
23. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?
Forbidden love usually makes for a more interesting story. It’s usually more intense too.
24. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?
I like both but it depends on the mood I’m in. Sometimes I’m more in the mood for romance and other times I’m more in the mood for some action with a smattering of romance.

I’m not going to tag anyone so if you want to do the post, feel free to!

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag!

  1. I love all your answers. I would hate to be the person that gets sick while reading in the car. It’s one of the perfect times to read! My family use to drive all the way to Illinois (which is about 18 hours from Florida), so it was the perfect time to get lots of reading in.

    I also rush posts and then find myself editing it right after and sometimes I end up editing more and more throughout the day, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

