Book Review: Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

18106318

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Published: January 28, 2014 by Balzer + Bray

Pages: 336

Goodreads Summary: Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she’s ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.

Review: I read this book for one of the book clubs I joined recently.  I love the look of the cover and I love the premise so I was excited to get into it.  It took me a little while to get into the book.  I felt that it moved slowly and there was just way too much Greek mythology for my taste.  I didn’t feel like it added anything to the story and just made the storyline a little confusing.  Another thing I didn’t like very much was how quickly Nyx fell for Shade and Ignifex.  As the story progressed it got more interesting and I was able to see the appeal of Ignifex but Shade was kind of disturbing to me.  Nyx needs to just make up her mind and decide…. does she love or hate her family and does she love or hate Ignifex?  Back and forth.  When she wasn’t too busy struggling with her internal drama I enjoyed the story.  Overall I thought this book was just okay.  I don’t think I would ever read it again but at the same time I don’t regret reading it.

3/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

  1. Pingback: Month In Review: March 2015 | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

