Book Review: Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

11612579

Dragonfly In Amber by Diana Gabaldon

Edition Published: September 2002 by Dell

Pages: 947

Goodreads Summary: DRAGONFLY IN AMBER is the second novel in the main OUTLANDER series. The book carries on the story begun in OUTLANDER, but begins with a brief framing story set in 1968, in which Claire Randall visits a young Oxford don named Roger MacKenzie in Inverness, in search of answers for her daughter, Brianna. Her request is unusual; she has a list of names, Jacobite soldiers who fought with Prince Charles Edward Stuart’s army, who took part in the disastrous battle at Culloden in 1746. What happened to these men, she asks, following the battle? Roger is surprised at her intensity, but intrigued at her question–and intrigued even more by her red-haired daughter. The answer to Roger’s search leads all three to an unexpected grave–and to a revelation that will turn all their lives inside-out.

Claire tells Roger and Brianna what happened during the year before the Stuart Rising: the political intrigues, the chain of spying, betrayal, and murder that led her and her husband James Fraser from the court of Louis XV to the windswept moors of the Scottish Highlands and the blood-soaked ground of Culloden. The horrifying trap of circumstance and honor that sent her back to the future–and the present set of circumstances that have led her to her quest, and to a still more shocking revelation.

Review:  When I first started to read this book, I was kind of unsure of whether or not I was going to like it. I fell in love with the story of Claire and Jamie in Outlander so I was a little disappointed when the story started out back in the future with Claire and her daughter, Brianna. I just wanted to know where Jamie was and why was Claire back in the future. When the story finally went back (as Claire is telling her story to Brianna and Roger) I was so relieved! Jamie is my absolute favorite character so I was glad to see him again. It still took my awhile to get interested because their lives in France were SO incredibly different than in Scotland. If you are reading this book and wondering the same thing, hang in there!

After awhile I began devouring this book. It kept getting better and better! I couldn’t wait until I had time to read every day. I found myself laughing out loud a few times, even tearing up a little bit. The second I got to the last word of the book, I immediately went to grab Voyager, the next book in the series even though I was planning on reading something else next. I just have to find out what happens next!

If you haven’t yet read Outlander, do it!  If you have but haven’t read Dragonfly In Amber, do it!

4/5 stars

One thought on “Book Review: Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

  1. Pingback: Month In Review: March 2015 | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

