Northfield Hospital Auxilary Annual Book Sale

Today is the beginning of one of my favorite weeks of the year!  The Northfield Hospital Auxiliary Annual Book Sale started today!  Every year they have a HUGE book sale that takes place in our town’s indoor ice arena.  All of the books are donated from people around the town and in the weeks before the sale, the volunteers accept donations and sort through all of the books, organizing them by genre and author.  The sale begins Tuesday at 5 and then all day Thursday and Friday.  On Saturday the morning is the $5 book sale.  You can pick out as many books as you can fit in brown grocery bags and each bag ends up $5!  Such awesome savings.  After noon, whatever books are left are free!  The past two years I have come home with such awesome book hauls.  I was really looking forward to this year’s sale but my parents decided spur of the moment to head up to Lake Superior for the weekend and invited Ethan and I to go with so of course we couldn’t pass that up!  I decided to just go today on the way home from work.

IMG_20150428_171733 IMG_20150428_171802This is not a very good picture but I was just eager to dive into the tables!  It does do a very good job of showing that people of all ages are here to find new books.  The tables go all the way around the entire ice rink.

Inside on the first pages of each book is the price they have set for the book.  Most books are $3 but if you’re lucky and find an unmarked book, it’s only $1.  I didn’t want to spend a lot this year so I found myself being incredibly selective.  If it had been the bag sale, I probably would have come home with a full bag or two.  I came away with only 4 books this time!  I was actually pretty proud of myself.  I’ve been trying so hard not to buy many books so I was glad that I only spent $7.

IMG_20150428_182248I got the two Diana Gabaldon hardcovers for $2.50 each.  The bottom two paperbacks were unmarked so they were only $1 each!

Does your town have an annual book sale?

3 thoughts on “Northfield Hospital Auxilary Annual Book Sale

  1. This is so awesome! I just recently found out that our local rec center has a book sale on a Saturday in May. You can drop off books to donate for a few weeks leading up to it, and on that day all books are $.50 to $1.00. I plan on checking it out.

    Great finds for a great deal!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Last Book Haul of April | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

