Top Ten Books I Will Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is: Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

I can say without a doubt in my mind that I will never read these books.  Some are just because I’ve had no interest, others are series that I did not like the first book at all and some just because I flat out refuse to read it.

  1. anything by Jodi Piccoult – I have never read a single book of hers and never will because I HATED the premise of My Sister’s Keeper.  As a sibling of someone who had cancert, the whole idea of parents conceiving a child for the sole purpose of being a marrow donor for their first child just sickens me.  No thank you!
  2. the rest of the Vampire Academy series – I read the first book a few months ago and was totally annoyed by both of the main characters.  I have no desire to read any farther in the series.
  3. Percy Jackson series – I just have no interest in this series at all despite everyone else loving it.  I’ll just stick with my beloved Harry Potter.
  4. The Selection series – the covers alone are enough to turn me off of this series.  Each cover is just a photo of a different girl in a different ball gown…. What… No.
  5. the rest of the Dollanganger series – I read Flowers in the Attic and it was just too weird for me with the crazy grandmother and all the incest going on there.
  6. Dangerous Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – I really enjoyed the Beautiful Creatures series but I’m not a fan of Link and Ridley so I really don’t have any desire to start this spin-off series.
  7. the rest of the Mortal Instruments series – I read City of Bones and it was just okay.  I didn’t really connect with any of the characters and the storyline didn’t interest me enough to keep reading in the series.  There have been so many times when I’ve seen City of Ashes in the store and decided not to get it, so I don’t think I will ever finish this series.
  8. Life of Pi by Yann Martel – No interest.  The storyline sounds incredibly boring to me.  I will not read the book nor will I see the movie.  Don’t even try to convince me otherwise, it’s just not going to happen.
  9. Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen – Another one I really have no interest in.  I’m not a huge fan of circuses to begin with.  I’ve seen part of the movie and just couldn’t get into it.
  10. The Help by Kathryn Stockett – I’m not exactly sure why I’ll never read this but there could be various factors in play.  The hype, owning the movie for years but never having the desire to watch it… I don’t know, I just know that I will probably never read it.

What books will you probably never read and why?

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Will Never Read

  1. There are some really great books on this list … I hope you’ll reconsider it someday because, in my opinion, you’re missing out. Hope you don’t take that the wrong way, it’s just what I think.
    Also, to answer your question at the bottom, there are no books I would never read. I’m open to giving any book a shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Water for Elephants is really terrible and I wish I could go back and not read it, so I fully support your choice there 🙂 I’m unfamiliar with most of these other books. Mortal Instruments is fine, but it goes on three books too long. I like her other series better.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Percy Jackson? oh well at least you don’t despise HP too haha. and ive been wanting to read The Selection series but I just couldn’t get into it yet. Its not on my list though because I think I’d be reading it soon 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree: no way to Water for Elephants! I’m curious about Life of Pi, but am afraid it will be silly. I got it at Goodwill; it’s a book I’d never pay full price for! Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. No loss with Water for Elephants. I was not a fan. I am sorry you don’t want to read Percy Jackson. I am a super huge fan and love that I learn while I am reading. The Mortal Instruments were too long but weren’t too bad and The Beautiful Creatures series ended up being terrible…so no loss there either.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I got into Percy Jackson because my oldest son wanted to start the series (I think he was eight then?) and I wanted to make sure it was appropriate so I read the first one. I’ve read all of them since. 🙂 They are fun but Harry Potter is waaaaay better. I agree that you have to make some cuts in your book life in order to read what you really want. So many books out there! Enjoyed your list.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What an interesting idea for a Top Ten Tuesday. I highly recommend Water for Elephants, but I know everyone has their own tastes. 🙂 I hate having to stop with a book, I rarely do. But I just put one down because I couldn’t get into it and the editing was so bad. That’s frustrating. Thankfully, I’ve got all great reads going now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I also hate not finishing a book. I used to never do that but I’ve found myself doing it a few times recently because of just awful writing that I couldn’t get past. I always feel bad when I don’t finish a book so I try really hard to work through if I’m struggling, and sometimes that pays off and I find a great book. That happened when I read The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

      Like

  8. Funny about Jodi Picoult — I’ve read a few of her books, but absolutely hated My Sister’s Keeper (and then saw the movie, and hated it too). I liked LIfe of Pi and Water for Elephants, though. After seeing The Help (movie), I ended up never reading the book because I couldn’t see spending the time on a story I already had experienced. Percy Jackson — read the 1st book, but didn’t find it interesting enough to continue. Interesting list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

