The Burrito Bowl Book Tag

burrito-bowl-book-tag-image-750x450

So I came across this awesome sounding book tag on Nut Free Nerd today and thought it sounded like a lot of fun!  It was created by Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts and Cristina @ Girl In The Pages out of their mutual love for Chipotle.   Now I know I’m going to get a lot of hate for this but I am not really a fan of Chipotle.  I love burritos, tacos and the like… just not Chipotle.  But let’s get on with the show!

Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you to make your own burrito bowl, linking back to their site.
  2. Answer the tag questions.
  3. Tag 5 others to create their own bowl!
  4. Food coma.

Rice: The Foundation – “The book that got you into reading (or book blogging)” – Wow, this is actually kind of a tough one for me.  I read so many different books growing up and have loved reading for as long as I can remember.  I guess some of the earliest chapter books I got into were The Boxcar Children books by Gertrude Chandler Warner.297249

Beans: The Filler – “The book with a whole lot of nothing going on” – This one definitely goes to On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan.  This book bored me to tears…  A couple on their honeymoon are too anxious about their first night together so they sit there and reminisce about how they met.   It was very dull.9953

Protein: The Building Block – “A book quote to live by”

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” – The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

727798
Fajitas: The Crunch of Texture –
 “A book with immaculate world-building” – Hmm I think I will go with Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.  The book was kind of slow in terms of action until the end because there was so much world building going on but it is certainly a fascinating world and I can’t wait to read farther into the series!16034235


Salsa: The Dance of Flavour –
 “A book that kept you on your toes” The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan (and the rest of The Wheel of Time series).  There are so many main characters, so many pages,  so many books and so much going on!  I had to reread the first three books a couple of times when I went too long before reading the 4th book.  I couldn’t remember everything that happened so a refresher was definitely needed to complete the series.228665


Corn: The Explosion of Sweetness
 – “A memorable scene with friendship/romance” – I’m going to have to go with my most recently finished book: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.  There was so much cuteness in this book between Simon and Blue.  I loved it!22723235

Cheese: The Bond of Calcium – “Two characters from different books you wish could be friends” I’m going to go with Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice and Fanny Price from Mansfield Park, both books by Jane Austen, on this one.  They are my favorite two Austen characters and I think they would make great friends!1885 45037

Sour Cream: The Tangy Topper – “The quirkiest character you’ve ever read (protagonist or supporting)” Definitely Luna Lovegood from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.  She had such a quirky personality and didn’t care about what other people thought of her.  I love her character and so glad that Rowling created her. 2Guacamole: The Cost of Creaminess – “A book you paid too much for” – Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris.  I really loved the Sookie Stackhouse series when it began but as it got towards the end, I didn’t love it so much.  I really really really hated the way Harris ended the book so I’m mad that I bought the book when it was released.15985348

Lettuce: The Handful of Crispness – “A refreshing concept/theme in a book” This was a really tough one.  I’m going with The Young Elites by Marie Lu.  In YA books you don’t often have the main character have such a darkness about them but there was definitely more dark than light in Adelina Amouteru and it was kind of refreshing to have a change of pace in main characters.20821111

Chips: Le Pièce de Résistance – “A must-read recommendation [if you like this book/genre—you decide!]” Another recently read book for me: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern!  I loved this book so much.  I was a little nervous about reading it because of all the hype and I’m not a big fan of the circus…. But this was so beyond being connected to any type of circus I’ve ever heard of before and it’s more than just a circus.  I borrowed this book from my library but I immediately bought it after reading it because it was just that good.13330943

Tabasco: The Kick to the Face – “Your favorite fight/action sequence” I really enjoyed all of the fight/action sequences in Outlander by Diana Gabaldon but I think my favorite was when Claire is trying to get Jamie out of Wentworth Prison.10964

I am going to tag:

Ashley @ Dear World…

Stefani @ Caught Read Handed

Brandie @ Brandie is a Book Junkie

Yvo @ It’s All About Books

Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense

Kimberly @ Over the Bookshelf

Kelsey @ Darcy’s Book Blog

5 thoughts on “The Burrito Bowl Book Tag

  1. I love this tag! It looks like so much fun! Thanks for tagging me. I will definitely be doing this sometime over the weekend.

    Simon and Blue ❤ They are totally me new favorite couple! I tried to read that book in private as much as I could, because I was always laughing and smiling and I'm sure people would have thought I was a little insane. Haha.

    Great book choices for your answers!
    I definitely need to jump on The Night Circus and The Young Elites! I've had them for awhile now and haven't read them yet!
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for tagging me! I need to do this one soon, as Joey tagged me too and I haven’t made the time. It looks like fun, and I do love Mexican food (in fact we’re having it tonight for dinner). Lol. I will admit that I’ve only ever eaten at Chipotle once!

    You keep reminding me that I really need to read The Night Circus asap.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

