Armchair BEA – Introductions

ArmchairBEA LogoExample

Ever since I heard about BEA I have been dying to go!  But MN is quite a long ways from NY and plane fare is really expensive so that won’t be happening anytime soon.  So I was really excited to find out about Armchair BEA!  Check out the site to find out more info if you don’t know what it is.  Basically it’s a virtual experience of BEA for those of us who can’t make it to the big event.  I’m a day late to the party but better late than never!

Yesterday’s topic was: Introductions and Library Love

INTRODUCTIONS

Tell us a bit about yourself: How long have you been blogging? Where are you from? How did you get into blogging? – My name is Maren and I’m a 28 year old Minnesotan, born and raised.  I’m married and have two adorable cats, although they can be a pain in the ass sometimes.  I love reading and everything to do with books.  I have been doing this book blog since September 2014 and I love love love it!  I have another blog, Minnesotascatterbrain, that is more of a general blog that I have been doing since late 2012.  Since starting this blog, I’ve let Minnesotascatterbrain sit on the back burner for awhile because book blogging is what I have come to love the most.

What is your favorite genre and why? – I would definitely say fantasy.  It’s a fun and exciting escape from reality.  I love visiting new worlds and meeting new creatures.

What book are you reading right now? –  Currently I am reading an ARC of Summer Secrets by Jane Green.  I’m not very far into it but the opening really grabbed my attention quick.

What is the top book in your TBR pile? – At the moment I can’t wait to read A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.  I just got it in the mail on Tuesday but I want to wait until June to start it.

What is your theme song? – It’s kind of an inside joke between my best friend and I but that would have to be Freak On A Leash by Korn.  But in all seriousness I would have to actually go with Decode by Paramore.  It has been my absolute favorite song since 2009.

LIBRARY LOVE

Libraries are amazing places.  I’ve talked about my love for libraries before when I was participating in the #ReadingMyLibrary challenge.  Growing up one of my favorite places to go was the library.  I would bike there during the summer in elementary school with my mom and brother.  After school my friends and I would go hang out at the library when we were in middle school and high school.  When I was in college, my library there was a great place to go study and be surrounded by that awesome book smell.  I recently started going to my local library again.  I live in the same town I grew up so it’s the same library I’ve been going to for many years.  It’s kind of a comforting place.  What I love most about libraries is that there are so many different worlds all on one small place that people can escape to and choose their own, whether it be fiction or non-fiction.

Stay tuned later today for today’s Armchair BEA topic!

3 thoughts on “Armchair BEA – Introductions

  1. I love this! And that I just learned more we have in common. Decode is one of my favorite songs, too – I was just listening to it (Twilight soundtrack) this morning on my way to work!! That is one of my favorite albums ever, and when the radio is playing crap, I always put it in.

    And I love your comment about your two cats. That’s so me, too. I adore my two babies, but they can be total assholes some days. LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

