Question of the Day: Searching For Long Lost Book

Have you ever tried to remember the title of a book you read earlier in your life but can’t seem to think of it?

There is this one book that I read growing up that I remember reading at least a couple of times but I cannot for the life of me remember the title or name of the author.  I remember a lot of random details from the book so I’ve tried Googling it but come up with nothing.  I can somewhat visualize the cover and would know it if I saw it.  I’m pretty sure it was a book from the mid-1980s and the edges of the pages were yellow (on purpose not from age)  It was about a girl who goes into the foster care system and ends up with a family who has adopted a bunch of kids who all have disabilities ranging from blindness to being in a wheelchair.  She is “normal” so at first it feels weird to be around them but as the story goes on, she comes to think of them as her best friends and family.  One of their friends from school who is also disabled (although I can’t remember what his disability was) was named David.  She and David were working on painting sets together for the school play.  They kind of fall for each other.  At one point some of the people at their school started making fun of her for hanging out with the disabled kids and she fired back at them and stuck up for her friends.  In the end, the parents decide to adopt her too.  I can’t remember any of the other character’s names, just David.

Those are the main details I remember about the story.  I would really love to read it again but I can’t seem to find it anywhere!  It has been driving me crazy for years!  Anybody happen to have heard about this book?

Do you have a book like this that has been eluding you for years?

11 thoughts on “Question of the Day: Searching For Long Lost Book

  1. I don’t know the title of the book you are talking about, but it sounds interesting. I hope if you ever figure it out you will post about it. 🙂

    I have a few books that have eluded me over the years. One in particular is about this princess (I think) who either stumbles across or is put in a magical castle where there are infinite rooms, and she has to find the key to the front door to escape. I think it was part of a series. It’s been haunting me for years!

    Like

    • Oh I will definitely be posting about it if I do ever find the book! I would be way too excited not too! I don’t think I’ve ever heard of the book(s) that you’re talking about 😦 It’s maddening isn’t it?!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s a book I read in high school that I remember really loving and for the life of me, I can never seem to remember anything about it that would help find it. It drives me crazy sometimes.

    I hope you figure out the title of your book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know what book this is, although with the time frame I’m surprised I didn’t read it. I know I have books of my own that I can’t remember, but right now I can’t recall any. So is that a double forgetting? HAHA

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Some of it sounds a little bit like The Pinballs by Betsy Byers.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Pinballs.The “David” storyline sounds like it comes from Rules by Cynthia Lord (though that was 2008, and David was the disabled brother. The kid at school was Jason). There was also a nonfiction book in the 1980s about the Debolt Family (19 Steps Up The Mountain). They adopted a bunch of kids with different disabilities, and that book was yellow.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This has definitely happened to me! I don’t know the book you mean, unfortunately, but I’m sure someone will come up with an answer for you! I’ve had this happen with a few books, and was able to find two finally, plus one for my husband. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

