Where the Moon Isn’t by Nathan Filer

17286816

Where the Moon Isn’t by Nathan Filer (also published as The Shock of the Fall)

Published November 5th 2013 by St. Martin’s Press (first published 2013)

307 pages

Goodreads Summary: While on vacation with their parents, Matthew Homes and his older brother snuck out in the middle of the night. Only Matthew came home safely. Ten years later, Matthew tells us, he has found a way to bring his brother back…

What begins as the story of a lost boy turns into a story of a brave man yearning to understand what happened that night, in the years since, and to his very person. Unafraid to look at the shadows of our hearts, Nathan Filer’s rare and brilliant debut Where the Moon Isn’t shows us the strength that is rooted in resilience and love.

Review: I read this book for my book club’s June read.  I was really glad I was able to get this book from my library because it fell pretty flat for me.  Before reading it I had heard how amazing it is but I just could not see it.  It wasn’t horrible, just not for me.  The main character has schizophrenia and is in and out of care all while returning to memories of his little brother Simon who died when they were young.  The way the book is structured kind of bugged me.  It was hard to place the timing of events.  It felt really scattered and too jumbled for me to follow.  Normally I don’t have an issue with a character having flashbacks but this one just didn’t work for me.  On the plus side, the author used great descriptions of the setting and characters so it was really easy for me to visualize those things.  I can definitely understand why people are loving this book, and maybe I would have if I hadn’t seen all of the rave reviews beforehand… who knows.

3/5 stars

One thought on “Where the Moon Isn’t by Nathan Filer

  1. Pingback: 20 Books of Summer | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

