Unknown Sender by Ryan Lanz

25692688

I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Unknown Sender by Ryan Lanz | Buy from Amazon

Published June 5th 2015 by Applebury Press

22 Pages

Goodreads Summary: Jessica’s world revolves around studying at college and affording prepackaged meals, which leaves little time for socializing. In fact, she is quite content without being noticed, which only makes the attention of a mystery texter all the more unwanted.

She isn’t unfamiliar with strange advances, but this is something entirely different. This person knows things about her. Things beyond just an average stalker.

Even after all that, Jessica would be much more content to forget than discover who is chasing her, electronically or otherwise. Eventually, she finds out that she can’t outrun her past.

Review: I have to be honest.  Normally I’m not a fan of reading short stories because for me they are always too short.  You don’t always get the details or character development that you are looking for.  But I ended up really liking this short story!  Although this is a novelette size, I felt like I got plenty of information about the main character, Jessica.  She clearly has some issues – takes medication for anxiety, has a pretty low self-esteem, and is struggling to stay afloat both academically and financially in college.  Her roommate, Aubrey, was also described in a way that I felt I had enough information about her.  Aubrey is one of those typical pretty girls with the perfect makeup (even though she doesn’t need it), perfect hair and the hot boyfriend.  Those things seem to annoy Jessica and yet Aubrey seems to be a good friend to her.

One thing I really liked was that the text messages Jessica kept receiving reminded me of something out of Urban Legend.  Who wouldn’t be creeped out by that, especially when the first text you get is asking if you lock your doors at night?!  As the texts continued, I kept getting more creeped out and for me, that is a sign of a good horror story.  With a huge twist towards the end, you are sure to be on the edge of your seat through the entire story!

The only thing I would like is to have had a longer portion at the end.  I don’t want to give anything away but I just felt that the ending was a little too abrupt and left me wanting more of this story.

Overall, this was a great horror story and I would recommend it to anyone looking to get that spine-tingling creepy feeling like someone is watching you but you can’t see them!

4/5 stars

One thought on “Unknown Sender by Ryan Lanz

Leave a Reply

