End of the Week Update + Look At Next Week

It’s been awhile since I’ve done any sort of update on the recent happenings in my life, bookish and non, so that’s what this post is!  Are you ready? 😉  If you follow me on Instagram (if you don’t, you should 🙂 ), then you have seen quite a few of these pics already.

Two weeks ago my little brother got married to his college sweetheart.  They got married in the same, small Iowa town that we a bunch of us went to college in.  My great uncle, my dad and his two brothers, my mom (that’s where my parents met), my aunt (married to my dad’s youngest brother), myself, my brother and my new sister-in-law.  It was fun going back to that town.  I haven’t been back there since my brother graduated in 2013.  I spent 4 years of my life living in that town (2005-2009) so it was fun to see how much it has changed and how much it hasn’t.  It was a beautiful wedding and I couldn’t be happier for my brother.

jimstephweddingTop right photo is of the mother-son dance.  Middle photo is of Ethan and I.  We were host and hostess along with Steph’s brother and sister-in-law at the reception.  Bottom right is of my Dad having a great time dancing in one of my brother’s friend’s crazy suit coats lol.

Then this past weekend on Sunday I was lucky enough to get to go see one of my favorite country musicians, Jason Aldean.  We were extra lucky that it was one of the few concerts that he teamed up with Kenny Chesney at outdoor stadiums.  It was a great concert and the weather couldn’t have been more perfect!

jasonaldean concertThe other day I got some GREAT book mail but I will be saving photos of that until I do a book haul post at the end of the month.  I also got some great deals on some new shoes yesterday so I can’t wait to get those in the mail!  Tonight Ethan and I are having a little date night.  On Sunday we’re heading down to Austin, MN to visit my Grandma for the day.  I have Monday through Wednesday off work so Monday I am getting together with a friend to have a shopping day.  On Tuesday I get to cross off one of the biggest things on my bucket list…

shania-twain-2015-rock-this-country-tour-art-400pxAfter many, many years of waiting… Shania Twain is back on tour!  Totally can’t wait for this concert!

That’s it for the non-bookish updates.  As for bookish updates, I am pretty behind on my 20 Books of Summer Challenge.  July is almost over and I’m only less than halfway through my list!  Luckily once August hits I’ll be able to knock off some more during carpool since I don’t have to drive.

11760079_979338376473_4198515480161379129_n

Currently I am reading Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.  I like it but not as much as I thought I would so that’s a little disappointing.  I still have no interest in The Distant Hours so I’m almost 99% positive that one will end up being a DNF.  With some time off work next week I am really looking forward to getting a lot of reading done!

Monday will be my last book haul of the month (and hopefully for awhile) with the exception of a few packages that are still on their way.  So stay tuned for my July Book Haul post coming up next week! 🙂

And that’s it!  Thanks for stopping by!

Follow me on Instagram, Facebook, Goodreads, and Twitter!!

7 thoughts on “End of the Week Update + Look At Next Week

  1. Congrats to your brother! 🙂
    That’s awesome about the concert! I like Kenny Chesney. I don’t really listen to too much country anymore, but Kenny Chesney is definitely a favorite of mine.
    Looks like you have a lot of fun things to do coming up too!
    I am definitely hoping I get a lot of reading done over this weekend. I barely read much throughout this week. 😦
    Can’t wait to see your July book haul post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So many great fun things wish I had such great things to share. Maybe I’ll take pictures of dog sitting this week. He’s very cute. I would love to see Shania, I’. sure she’s a dynamic performer.
    For my 20 books of Summer I’ve read 20, but ARCs have come in that weren’t planned and things change, you know. I don’t think the book challenge police will come get me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

