Month In Review: August 2015

monthinreview

How is it possible that it’s September already?  This year has been flying by so quickly.  I’ve had a great month of reading!  Especially compared to last months stats.

# Books read in August: 17 (including 2 DNF)
# Pages read in August: 5,221 (does not include DNF)
# Books Read YTD: 102
# Pages Read YTD: 34,302
Challenge Updates:
Goodreads: 102/110
2015 TBR Pile Challenge: 7/12
2015 NetGalley & Edelweiss Challenge: 27/25 Silver Level Complete

20 Books of Summer: 18/20 plus 24 additional

Books Read: 

  • Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
  • Hunter by Mercedes Lackey (DNF)
  • Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • Taking Leaps and Finding Ghosts by Janet DeLee
  • The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
  • Supernatural: Rising Son graphic novel
  • The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel by Diana Gabaldon
  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  • White Oleander by Janet Fitch
  • Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
  • A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
  • Witches of East End by Melissa de la Cruz
  • Voice of Innocence by Lindsay Detwiler
  • Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley (DNF)
  • Stardust by Neil Gaiman
  • Darken the Stars by Amy A. Bartol

I was hoping to finish the book I was reading yesterday but I didn’t finish it until this morning so I can’t count it for August 😦

bestbookread

My two favorites from August were Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo and The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh.  I really loved both of them and can’t wait to read the next books in each of the series.

Now normally I don’t really do TBRs for the months but I have a pretty good idea of what I want/need to read in September so I’m going to lay out a tentative TBR.  If you’ve been to my blog before you’ll know I’m a mood reader so these could easily change.

September (Tentative) TBR

  • Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
  • Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
  • My Stratford Friend by Dominick Reyntiens
  • A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston (e-ARC)
  • The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich (e-ARC)
  • Cleopatra’s Shadow by Emily Holleman (ARC)
8 thoughts on “Month In Review: August 2015

  1. Awesome reading month for you! 🙂
    I’ve been so out of it with reading, so I don’t want to start Siege and Storm until I feel better about reading. I think I’m just burned out from reading so much this year that it’s making me not enjoy books as much as I normally would. Because my August, I read so many books that everyone was loving and I just did not like. One fine, but ALL OF THEM? Something is clearly not right with me hahah.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha-ha I know how that goes. There have been so many times I’ve wondered why I didn’t seem to like a book everyone else did. I’m only 6 books away from beating my # books read last year. I’m surprised I haven’t had as many reading slumps as last year.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am impressed!! What a great month! You make me think I should give the Throne of Glass series a try. All the buzz about this new book makes me feel like I’m missing out. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a really good series. I can’t wait to start book #3 after I finish The Dead House tonight! It’s got a few similarities to Shadow and Bone so if you liked that one, you’ll most likely like Throne of Glass.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

