Question of the Day: Book Stamps and Bookplates

Growing up I always loved writing my name in my books.  I loved claiming ownership of my items, especially my books.  I think that is fairly common with children, to write their name on their things.  I haven’t done it in the past 5+ years though, mainly because most of the books I was buying I wasn’t planning on having a part of my forever collection.  Whenever I would find really cheap books, I would buy them with the idea that I would read them once and then sell them at Half Price Books.  I didn’t want to take the time to write my name in them and I didn’t want my writing in the book to devalue what I could get back for selling it.  Now that I am moving more towards only buying books that I plan to keep forever I’ve been itching to write my name in my books.  But there are times when I don’t like my handwriting so I’ve been toying with the idea of book stamps or bookplates.  I’m leaning more towards book stamps because they can be so much smaller than a book plate.  I don’t want the book to SCREAM that I own it when you open the front cover.  I’m looking for something a little more subtle than most of the bookplates I have seen.  I know some people are loathe to write inside of books but to me this is a whole lot different than writing or highlighting on the actual pages of the book.

Do you put your name in your books using book stamps, bookplates or just handwriting them?  Or do you have on opinion on the matter you would like to share?

  

These photos are just examples pulled from a Google search for bookplates and book stamps.

2 thoughts on “Question of the Day: Book Stamps and Bookplates

Leave a Reply

