WWW Wednesday – September 16, 2015

WWWWednesday Logo

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words.
Each week we answer the following three questions:
-What have you recently finished reading?
-What are you currently reading?
-What are you reading next?

www916fin

Since I skipped last week’s post, I have a couple more than normal.  I read some great books in the last two weeks!  The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich was AWESOME!  The eARC had elements of the finished pages, which was meant to look like a singed journal with video screenshots, post its and emails.  But when I saw what the finalized pages really looked like I HAD to get my own physical copy.  It came in the mail yesterday and it is SO COOL!  I’ll post my Instagram photo of it at the bottom of this post.  The Demon in the Wood was a prequel short story of The Darkling from the Grisha trilogy.  It was pretty good.  Very interesting to get a look at The Darkling before he became The Darkling.  And of course Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows were both amazing!  I can’t wait for the next book.  Ruin and Rising I ended up reading in one day because I couldn’t put it down!

www916dnf

Alas, I also had a couple of DNFs.  Both are from NetGalley.  A Thousand Nights was just so incredibly dull for me.  There was little dialogue, no character names or descriptions.  If you want to read a great retelling of A Thousand and One Nights, read The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, not this one.  Divided was a total mistake!  I saw a tweet from NetGalley about it and I clicked on the link wanting to see what the book was about… and apparently by clicking on that link I told them I wanted to read it so I was instantly approved.  So it didn’t start off great by me feeling like I had to read it even though I didn’t necessarily want to.  And then the story just couldn’t hold my interest.

www916

Currently I am reading Legend by Marie Lu on my Kindle.  I loved The Young Elites by her but this one is just turning out to be okay for me.  We’ll see how it goes as I get farther along.  On the other hand, The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater is so good!  I’m a little more than halfway through and am totally loving the story and the characters.  I definitely need to get the rest of the series asap.

And as for what’s up next….  I honestly have no idea at this point.  I may draw a few from my TBR jar and see how that goes.  Or I may draw a few from my rereads jar… I just really don’t know what I’ll be in the mood for next.  I do know that once October gets here, I will be good to go because I almost have my Halloweeny list finalized!  I’m so excited about it!

And as promised… my Instagram photo of The Dead House!

12039421_995877816303_1326185816371236511_n

I mean, just look at the book without the dust jacket on it!!  It’s even awesome underneath!  So cool!

So what have you been reading lately?

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – September 16, 2015

  1. I’m so jealous of your recently finished. I am in this terrible reading slump and haven’t finished many books at all. 😦 I also really want to continue the Throne of Glass series and The Grisha series! I just don’t want to read them in a reading slump, because I don’t want it to affect how I like the book or not.

    The Dead House, yay! I love it without the jacket! I usually check my books without them, but for some reason I just didn’t with The Dead House (probably because I’m not going to read until October). So glad you posted the picture of it! Now it just needs to be October, ha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Dead House looks so cool. I’m definitely going to read it next month. Thank you for the idea to come up with a Halloween list…I was doing that last night on my Kindle. I already have too many books and not enough days to get through them. LOL. Can’t wait to see your list!

    You have had a great few weeks of reading, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

