Top Ten Debut Authors

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is: Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Us Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel (because when you love a debut, you just are ITCHING to get your hands on the author’s second book).

This week I chose to do a bit of a split and do debut authors that I have read and debut authors that I still need (and want) to read.  First off, the debut authors that I have read and am dying for their next book.  I came up with 8 for this part of my list.

TTTdebutsread

  • Dawn KurtagichThe Dead House: I read this book twice this year and loved it.  She recently had a cover reveal for her next book and it looks awesome!  Can’t wait for it.
  • Victoria AveyardRed Queen: I am very much looking forward to the next book in her series.  Especially after the ending of this book.  Plus I feel a bit of kinship with the main character since her name is Mare and mine is Maren…  🙂
  • Becky AlbertalliSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda: So much love for this book!  I gobbled this book up so I am definitely looking forward to a sophomore novel from Becky.
  • Francesca ZappiaMade You Up: This book was definitely one of my favorites of 2015.  It’s amazing that someone as young as Francesca could write such an incredible book!
  • Nicola YoonEverything, Everything: I devoured this book as an ARC and recently won a SIGNED copy (which I am super excited about).  I loved so much about this book and if I can’t get a sequel I am at least really looking forward to Nicola’s next novel.
  • Stephanie OakesThe Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly: This was one of my most anticipated reads of 2015 and it didn’t disappoint!  Anything cult related is fascinating to me and this story was just pure awesomeness.
  • Jenny Adams PerinovicA Magic Dark & Bright: This book was thrilling and suspenseful.  I love a book that can keep me hooked and wondering what is going to happen next.  I’m looking forward to the next book.
  • Erin MorgensternThe Night Circus: I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to put this one on here or not.  All of the books on this list have been YA and recent releases but this book was published a few years ago.  But I am DYING for her to write another book because The Night Circus was just so beautifully written.  I need more stories crafted by this amazing author.

And now for the debuts that I have yet to (but still really want to) read.

tttdebutTBR

  • Sabaa TahirAn Ember In The Ashes: I have owned this one for awhile now but just haven’t gotten around to it quite yet.  The premise sounds awesome and thrilling.  Plus that cover is gorgeous.
  • Jasmine WargaMy Heart and Other Black Holes: I’ve heard some amazing things about this book and recently bought it from Book Outlet.  I’m hoping to get to it within the next couple of months.
  • Melinda SalisburyThe Sin Eater’s Daughter: I immediately wanted to read this book solely based on the cover but the story sounds very interesting so I’m really looking forward to reading this at some point.  I have this book on my OTSP Secret Sister wishlist.
  • David ArnoldMosquitoland: This has been on my REALLY WANT TO READ list for several months. I’ve heard a lot of people loving this book and I have it on my OTSP Secret Sister wishlist.
  • Kim LiggettBlood and Salt: This book is on my Christmas list because I want to read it so badly.  I love the cover and the sound of the story.
  • Emma MillsFirst & Then: Look at that cover!  And it sounds like something I would absolutely love.

Have you read any of these debuts?  What are some of the sophomore novels you are most looking forward to?

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Debut Authors

  1. Love your list, Maren! 🙂
    I can’t wait for the sequel for Red Queen and I am dying for more from Francesca Zappia! Made You Up was SO SO good!
    I didn’t hate Mosquitoland, but I sadly wasn’t blown away by it like most people have been. Hopefully when you get around to reading it you enjoy it more!
    An Ember in the Ashes is so good!
    I have still not read The Night Circus, ahhh. I think I ma going to try to read it in December.
    I really really want Blood and Salt!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list. You have a few books on here that I have read and enjoyed myself. I think I am also going to have to add a few of these to my Christmas wishlist, it looks like I have missed out on some great debuts recently. I am especially excited to read An Ember in the Ashes, I have heard so many good things about that one. Here’s my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have heard so many brilliant things about The Night Circus I really should finally read it!! I’m so glad I’m not the last person to not have read An Ember in the Ashes and My Heart and Other Black Holes! I didn’t know The Sacred Lies was about a cult!! I’m so interested in reading it now! Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t believe that 2015 is almost over and that I still haven’t read Made You Up. Such a stunning cover. I really need to read it next year. An Ember in the Ashes is definitely in my top 3 favorite fantasy books so far this year, it’s a great read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

