Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is: Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To or Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I Still Need To Watch.

I love watching book to movie adaptations, even though the book is almost always better than the movie it is still fun to see the book come to life on the big screen.

tttmockingjay

MOCKINGJAY PART 2

This one is an obvious one.  I am dying to see this movie and I already know that it’s going to be emotional since it is the final movie.  On Saturday Ethan and I went to see Spectre (which was pretty good) and they had the trailer for Mockingjay Part 2 and I had tears welling up.  My birthday is a couple days before it releases in theaters so I’m definitely going to see it that weekend.

tttallegiant

ALLEGIANT

I am really looking forward to seeing how the 3rd movie turns out.  I’m contemplating doing a series reread before this movie comes out next spring.

ttt5thwave

THE 5TH WAVE

I’m a little nervous for this one.  I really liked the book but I am not a big fan of the actress playing Grace so we’ll see what happens.

tttfantasticbeasts

FANTASTIC BEASTS AND WHERE TO FIND THEM

I think any Harry Potter fan is eagerly awaiting this movie to be released.  I don’t believe I’ve seen Eddie Redmayne in anything but I’ve heard great things about his acting abilities so I am really looking forward to seeing this.

tttppz

PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES

When I first started seeing all of these classics being rewritten with monsters and such I was a little put off.  I have yet to read a single one.  BUT I think that I may have to readdress my earlier thoughts of them because the trailer for this movie looks totally badass.  I might just have to give these books a shot because I am definitely going to see the movie.

tttwalkinthewoods

A WALK IN THE WOODS

I absolutely loved this book.  It was hilarious and thrilling but I’m a little nervous to watch the movie.  I don’t think it got very good reviews and as much as I adore Robert Redford and Emma Thompson, I am not a fan of Nick Nolte.  I plan to watch this someday but just not sure when.

tttmartian

THE MARTIAN

I have heard nothing but great things about both the book and the movie.  I have the book on Kindle but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

tttmissperegrine

MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN

I have really enjoyed this series before and Tim Burton seems like the perfect person to direct the movie!  I can’t wait to see what he can turn this fantastic book into on the screen.

ttt3

While these two books have only been optioned for film I am so excited and really hope that we are able to see these awesome books as movies.  SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA was optioned by Fox 2000 which you can read about in this article here. ELEANOR & PARK  was optioned by DreamWorks which you can read about in this article here.

And my last (and 11th) choice is a little bit different because it’s not based on a book but on the true story of the 1996 Everest disaster which has had several books written about it.  I have two books (but have only read one so far) about the disaster written from two men who were there.  I have been wanting to see this movie so badly.

ttteverest

There has been so much controversy between INTO THIN AIR (the one I have read) and THE CLIMB because both have some differences as to what actually happened.  Krakauer, author of Into Thin Air, even addresses these controversies in the afterward.  He has also expressed his opinions regarding the movie which you can read about here.  I have a few days off next week and if it is still in theaters by then I am going to go see it.

What book to movie adaptations are you looking forward to?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To

    • I know! And after looking at yours I remembered a bunch more that I really want to see like Suicide Squad, and the Batman/Superman combo. So excited to see all of these movies even if I may not be able to see them in theaters.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I hardly ever go to the movies anymore because of how expensive it has gotten. And it doesn’t help that our nearest theater is about 25 minutes away from our town lol. We really only go if there is a movie we are really dying to see on the big screen.
      An E&P movie would be so good!! Or at least have the potential to be really good lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I can’t wait for Mockingjay Part 2! I saw A Walk in the Woods this weekend and it was pretty hilarious. Obviously not as awesome as the book, but they portrayed the wittiness of it pretty well! I saw it at the $3 theater by me; had it been a more expensive theater I would have been slightly “meh” about it. Funny but I’d wait for it to come out if you don’t have a cheap movie option near you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mockingjay Part 2 is going to be incredible! I’ll definitely be waiting on A Walk In The Woods as a rental or Netflix option. I’m still in Northfield so there are no cheap options by me lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

