Top Ten Authors I Am Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is: Thanksgiving themed Freebie — ten books I’m thankful for, authors I’m thankful for, Ten fictional families I’d like to celebrate Thanksgiving with, a personal non-bookish thankful list, etc. etc.

I started off this post thinking I wanted to do the top ten books I was thankful for but decided to change it to the top ten authors I am thankful for because I couldn’t just choose 10 books.  These ten authors have contributed to my reading life in different ways and I will always be thankful for their writing.

  • the authors of the American Girl books and the Dear America books – I decided to join these all together because there are so many and they were instrumental in sparking my love for historical fiction.  I still have all of my books from growing up and continue to add to my collections whenever possible.
  • J.K. Rowling – A bit obvious here but how could I not be thankful for the author who created some of my favorite characters, stories and world.  The Harry Potter series will continue to be one of my favorites forever.
  • J.R.R. Tolkien – I was first introduced to the words of Tolkien when I was in 5th grade.  I was in a local children’s choir and we sang a choral version of a song from The Fellowship of the Ring (here).  I loved that song so I read the books.  And when the movies came out, I was a goner.  I have Tolkien to thank for my love of fantasy.
  • Jane Austen – I discovered her books in high school and have been in love with her books ever since.  They opened up my eyes to want to try other classics including Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights.
  • Nicholas Sparks – I grew up reading these books with my mom.  We don’t have very similar tastes when it comes to books so his books were a way for us to bond.  They also opened up my interest to romance novels.
  • Margaret Mitchell – I am thankful to her for creating two of my favorite characters ever: Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler.  I grew up watching the movie at my grandma’s house.  I didn’t read the book until high school but I have been in love with Mitchell’s story for years and years.
  • Robert Jordan – I am extremely thankful to him for creating the world of The Wheel of Time.  They were recommended to me by a good friend in high school and I spent the next decade reading the series.  I love everything about this series and it was a big part of my teenage to early adult years.
  • Stephenie Meyer – I know, I know.  You’re probably shocked that she is on my list but I am not.  She was one of the first authors to come to mind when I was creating this list.  As a history major in college, I had to do a TON of reading for my classes.  That meant that I didn’t much feel like reading for fun anymore.  In 2009 during my senior year when my class schedule lightened up, I decided to give her debut novel, Twilight, a shot since so many people were going crazy for it before the movie came out.  I devoured it!  I went back to the store the next day to get the rest of the series.  My 4 year reading slump had come to an end.  The Twilight saga brought back my love of reading and I will forever be grateful to Stephenie Meyer for that.
  • Diana Gabaldon – I am so thankful for this epic series that she has created.  Outlander is my new love.  One might even say that I am obsessed.  I love everything about this series – the books and the TV show.  I can’t get enough Jamie Fraser in my life.
  • Sarah J. Maas – I am thankful for the creation of the world in the Throne of Glass series.  I love Celaena/Aelin and all of the characters.  This easily became one of my new favorite series.

What authors are you thankful for?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors I Am Thankful For

  1. This is a great list to be thankful for! I find it so interesting that so many people were sucked into the Twilight world, and now shun it and Stefanie Meyer. I resisted Twilight for a long time. I finally gave it a try after the Breaking Dawn Part 1 movie came out. I was hooked. I still love it. I’m not ashamed. 😉

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice list! Outlander has been my obsession for about 5 years now, ever since I first picked up the first book, and I don’t see that changing… ever. I think the American Girls books are so awesome — such positive images for young girls. And I’m thankful for JK Rowling, JRR Tolkien, and Jane Austen as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

