Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors In 2015

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is: Top Ten New-To-Us Favorite Authors We Read For The First Time in 2015.

This has been a really great year for me.  I have discovered so many awesome new-to-me authors that it was hard to choose.  The awesome thing is that my top ten are all awesome women!  Girl power!  🙂  Anyways, here are my top ten plus a few runner ups. (All author links are to their Goodreads page, book links go to Amazon)

  1. Rainbow Rowell – I have read 3 of her books now and loved them so much.
  2. Sarah J. Maas – I have so much love for her now.  I first read Throne of Glass for book club this year and I fell in love with the world and characters.  ACOTAR was great too!
  3. Leigh Bardugo – The Grisha trilogy has easily become one of my favorites!
  4. Maggie Stiefvater – I thoroughly enjoyed Shiver but she really grabbed my attention with The Raven Boys.
  5. Renee Ahdieh – The Wrath and the Dawn was just beautiful.  I can’t wait to see where the next book takes Shazi.
  6. Erin Morgenstern – The Night Circus was beautifully written and I found myself wanting to join this circus even though I’m not a fan of the typical circus.  I can’t wait to read whatever Morgenstern comes up with next.
  7. Lauren Bird Horowitz – I just recently read Shattered Blue and it was awesome!  The characters and story really gripped me.  And to top it off, she is one of the nicest people 🙂
  8. Erica Crouch – I devoured her Ignite series about Pen, Azael and Michael.  If you’re looking for a thrilling series about the epic struggle between the Fallen and the Divine, check out Ignite (which you can now get free on Kindle)!
  9. Dawn Kurtagich – The Dead House opened my eyes to the awesomeness of reading a book formatted with emails, IMs, journal entries, etcc.  I wasn’t really a fan of that before but this book was so awesome I read it twice this year!
  10. Deborah Harkness – I’ve always been a lover of witches and vampires so when I finally started reading this book to find them both, I was taken in immediately.  I can’t wait to continue reading the series.

Runner-Ups

  • Marie Lu – The Young Elites… totally badass and love that the main character is more of a villain than a hero.
  • Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman – Illuminae completely blew my mind!  I will now proceed to read anything either of them have written!
  • Neil Gaiman – Although I have only just scratched the Gaiman surface with Stardust and The Ocean At the End of the Lane, I am eagerly anticipating my reads of everything else he has ever written.
  • Claudia Gray – A Thousand Pieces of You had me wondering if I need to rethink my aversion to time/dimensional travel.  I loved this book.
25 thoughts on “Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors In 2015

  1. Pingback: Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors of 2015 - Lauren Bird Horowitz

  2. Lovely list! I love Rainbow Rowell, Neil Gaiman, and Deborah Harkness — and I see a few here that I’ve been meaning to check out as well (especially the Wrath and the Dawn, but I don’t want to read it until the sequel is out!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I can’t wait for the sequel for the Wrath and the Dawn. Good idea to wait. I wish I could have read them back to back. I might have to do a reread before book 2 is released.

      Like

Leave a Reply

