WWW Wednesday – December 16, 2015

WWWWednesday Logo

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words.
Each week we answer the following three questions:
-What have you recently finished reading?
-What are you currently reading?
-What are you reading next?

www1216fin

Within the last week I have finished a few books.  The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness was an interesting read.  It was my first of his books and I will definitely be reading more in the future.  I also finished a preview excerpt of Truthwitch by Susan Dennard from NetGalley.  This seems to be one of the most anticipated 2016 releases for a lot of people and I could see why.  It took me only two chapters to realize that I was going to love this book and decided to preorder it.  I finally finished my audio reread of Gone With The Wind.  That was a really long one but it was enjoyable and I liked the narrator’s portrayal of the characters voices.  I just finished Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins last night and it was SO CUTE!  It dethroned Anna and the French Kiss as my favorite of the trilogy.  Isla and Josh were just adorable.

www1216read

After finishing Isla last night I started book 5 of the Outlander series: The Fiery Cross.  I didn’t get very far but I am so excited to see what happens next for Jamie, Claire, Brianna and Roger.  I started another NetGalley title yesterday: Sanctuary Bay by Laura J. Burns & Melinda Metz (the latter has written for tv shows including Roswell, one of my faves).  It’s a really intriguing concept.  A foster girl gets a scholarship to this elite prep school that is on an island.  The school has a policy of “total immersion”, meaning that they aren’t allowed to leave the island until they graduate, no Facebook, email, Instagram or Twitter.  Cell phones are on a closed circuit.  Even the teachers and staff aren’t allowed to leave the island while employed by the school.  I’m about 20% in and so far it is good.  And I’m slowly continuing my way through the illustrated Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.  I’ve been slacking on my chapter-per-night schedule though.  And yesterday I started another audio reread of Pride and Prejudice.  I think the only way I can do audiobooks is if it’s a book I’ve already read because I tend to space out sometimes so I miss things.

www1216upnext

And since The Fiery Cross is so long, I don’t anticipate finishing that in a week so I will just add these two NetGalley titles to my up next list.  I usually read these in the car to and from work when it’s too dark to read a physical book.

What have you been reading lately?

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – December 16, 2015

    • I definitely agree about Pride and Prejudice. I just got the most beautiful boxed set of Jane Austen hardcovers the other day and I’m so excited to do a physical reread with them.
      I’m definitely looking forward to his other books. I have A Monster Calls and The Knife of Never Letting Go on my Christmas lists this year.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Isla was so adorable! I honestly think it was a tie with Anna, there were just hilarious moments with Anna that I absolutely loved! I can only do Audiobooks if it’s a reread for me as well, for the same reasons too! I space out so much and I’m afraid I’ll miss the little details.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done on finishing so many books recently, especially a re-read of the epic Gone with the Wind! I have recently finished historical fiction Kingmaker: Broken Faith by Toby Clements, and I’ve just started reading Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

