The Widow by Fiona Barton

25734248The Widow by Fiona Barton

Expected publication: February 16th 2016 by NAL

336 Pages

Goodreads Summary: When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen…

But that woman’s husband died last week. And Jean doesn’t have to be her anymore.

There’s a lot Jean hasn’t said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.

Now there’s no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.

The truth—that’s all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything…

Review:  I received this eARC from the publisher through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.  People have been comparing this book to Gone Girl and Girl On The Train.  While I haven’t read the latter, I really enjoyed Gone Girl.  Sadly I was not so thrilled by this book.  It was rather dull to be honest.  It opens with Jean watching her husband get run over by a bus.  Throughout the book she tries to pretend that it upset her but in reality she is happy he is gone.  The chapters bounce between 2010 after he dies and 2006 when he is accused of kidnapping and murdering a little girl named Bella Elliot.  The main problem with this book for me was that it was predictable and the main character, Jean AKA the widow, was completely uninteresting.  I think I was more interested in the reporter, Kate, than I was in Jean.  I mainly didn’t like this book because I felt like I had read this exact same story before.  While I didn’t like the actual story, the writer did a good job at portraying certain characters and setting the scene.

2/5 Stars

3 thoughts on “The Widow by Fiona Barton

  1. I just received this ARC from the publisher, and the marketing was enough to get me a bit interested. It was sent in an evidence bag with a pack of Skittles! That’s too bad that you didn’t enjoy it. I’ll still give it a shot, since I’m feeling the need to try new things. I have a sense that this could be one of those books that I won’t like, but that everyone will talk about a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

