Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

25930964Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

Expected publication: April 5th 2016 by Clarion Books

368 Pages

Goodreads Summary: In a city divided between opulent luxury in the Light and fierce privations in the Dark, a determined young woman survives by guarding her secrets.

Lucie Manette was born in the Dark half of the city, but careful manipulations won her a home in the Light, celebrity status, and a rich, loving boyfriend. Now she just wants to keep her head down, but her boyfriend has a dark secret of his own—one involving an apparent stranger who is destitute and despised. Lucie alone knows the young men’s deadly connection, and even as the knowledge leads her to make a grave mistake, she can trust no one with the truth.

Blood and secrets alike spill out when revolution erupts. With both halves of the city burning, and mercy nowhere to be found, can Lucie save either boy—or herself?

Review: I received a copy of this ARC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  I had been telling myself that I wasn’t going to request any more ARCs for awhile so I had more time to read books that I owned but when I got an email from NetGalley saying there was a new ARC for a book by Sarah Rees Brennan, I couldn’t help myself.  I had read her book, Unspoken, last year and loved it and her style of writing so I had to get this one.  The book had me hooked right away from the beginning.  The characters seemed interesting and I was completely intrigued by the author’s take on doppelgangers.  The first couple of chapters were great and action packed but when the world building started coming into play things just got muddled and confusing.  The city is New York City but it’s divided into the Light half and the Dark half.  Dark magic wielders are basically imprisoned in the dark half of the city and not allowed into the light half unless they have a special pass.  But light magic users also need the dark magic users because if they use too much of their magic they need to have their blood drained by the dark users.  And in turn the dark users use that blood to fuel their own magic.  Are you confused?  Good, because I was too.  The very last bit of the book was surprisingly good too.  I thought that once I got to the confusing, and rather boring, middle section that the rest of the book was going to be just as bad.  Did I love this book?  No.  Did I hate this book?  No.  It had its ups and downs so as a whole it was neither good nor bad.  If you’re a fan of A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens then you might be interested to read this because it is kind of a modern/magical retelling.

3 Stars

 

3 thoughts on “Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

  1. I’ve been saying that I won’t request anymore ARCs via NetGalley, either…and then they add another one that I have to read! I do have an ARC of this but haven’t read it yet…waiting until next month some time. I’m kind of bummed that it’s so confusing (yes, I was confused by that, too), but hopefully it’s still really good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Month In Review: February 2016 | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

