Top Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is: Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim (however you decide to interpret that (bought or read or something else) — I know most people read based on recommendation but we want to know those books you picked up without really hearing about or knowing much about!)

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve done a Top Ten Tuesday! I just wasn’t really feeling the last few topics so I’ve just been skipping them.  This week I had a few books that immediately came to mind so I knew I had to do it.  I am going to do it a little different because a few of the books I picked up on a whim to see what all of the fuss was about.  Several of these were before I started blogging or reading book blogs.

TTT5171

  • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – I purchased the Kindle edition of this book in December 2013 because it was cheap and it sounded interesting.  I had never heard of it before.  I didn’t actually get around to reading it until a year later when I bought the mass market paperback from Target on a whim since the show was coming out soon after.  I am insanely glad I finally decided to pick this book up because it is my new favorite and I am 100% obsessed with all things Outlander.
  • A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray – This one was a total whim one day when I was at the library.  I had never heard of it but it was on a cart of featured new books by the checkout.  I fell in love with the cover and grabbed it solely because of that.  I was not disappointed at all.
  • I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson – This was the same thing as ATPOY.  It was on the same cart up front by the checkout so I grabbed it too because look at that cover!
  • Twilight by Stephenie Meyer – This one I picked up in 2009 when I was a senior in college.  The movie was going to be coming out so I wanted to see what it was about.  I love a good vampire story too so I thought this would be right up my alley.  I devoured it and immediately went back to Walmart to buy the rest of the series and proceeded to read them all in 1 weekend.  After not reading for pleasure for 4 years during college because of the amount of reading I had to do as a history major, I have this series to thank for getting me back into it.
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – This was another library whim pick up.  I had never heard of it but the cover is stunning and it sounded interesting so I grabbed it.  This book was so magical and the writing so beautiful it has become one of my favorite books.

TTT517

  • City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – This was another one where I knew the movie was coming out so I wanted to read the book first.  I was severely disappointed and it has completely put me off of this author.
  • Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead – Same thing as City of Bones… And another major disappointment that has me not wanting to read this author again.
  • Serena by Ron Rash – When I first bought my Kindle Fire, I went crazy buying super cheap and/or free Kindle edition books and this happened to be one of them.  I read it and really enjoyed it.  **The movie is terrible FYI.  Sorry J-Law and B. Cooper… It just sucked**
  • Girl With A Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier – I grabbed this book on a whim at a book sale.  I’ve seen the painting a million times and have always wondered what the book was about.  I really liked it!  I thought it was fascinating that the author created this whole story about the artist based on the painting.
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – Back when I used to browse Target’s book section years ago, I kept seeing this one.  When I would read the back of the book it sounded to me a lot like Tron Legacy.  My BFF told me she had read it and loved it.  After passing up on it for months and months, I finally gave in and bought it.  I wish I had been smart enough to grab it the first time!  I love this trilogy.

What books have you picked up on a whim?

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Picked Up On A Whim

  1. I’ve heard SOOO many amazing things about the Outlander series– I don’t know why I haven’t picked it up yet! I love fantasy and time travel, so it sounds like it would be something I would love. Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everyone seems to have loved “The Night Circus” so incredibly much, but it was lukewarm for me. WHY?! And yes, the cover is absolutely gorgeous. I keep hearing both positive and negative things about “City of Bones”. I haven’t read anything by this author yet either and I keep waffling back and forth because no one seems to be able to make up their minds and I’m not interested enough to pick it up on my own. Meh.

    Glad you loved some of your whim picks! Hope you have many more positives in the future!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really need to read The Night Circus!! I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s not a fan of The City of Bones books. Ugh.
    I love that Twilight got us both back into reading for fun! I Did pick up the book because it was getting a lot of attention at the time, but I’m glad I did!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

