Weekend Update

Hey everyone!  I hope you all had a great weekend!  It was my first weekend home after a month so it was nice to just kick back and relax.  On Saturday I got together with one of my friends and we went to see The Shallows.  On Sunday Ethan and I went to see Star Trek: Beyond!  Other than that, I was home and relaxing with my books.  I finished reading The Song of Achilles.  It was really good but I think some of the hype made me expect something more than what it was for me.  It did put me in the mood to watch Troy so that is what I did Friday night.

On Saturday after I got home from hanging out with  my friend, I sat down to watch some Friends episodes and put together a collage with a bunch of the stickers I had purchased from RedBubble.  So many awesome stickers and I wasn’t really sure what to do with them at first.  I love how it turned out and it looks awesome hanging in my part of our office.  It incorporates a lot of my favorite things all in one spot.

20160723_230039

I also tried and majorly failed to start this ARC I had received from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.  I couldn’t even finish the entire first page!  It is such a bizarrely written book and I just couldn’t take it.  So instead, I decided to move on to the next book in my July TBR pile.  I wasn’t sure what I was in the mood for so I decided to grab the shortest one out of the pile so I could for sure finish it by the end of the month.  That one happened to be Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys.

13754535_10100176417799703_5007713834786958240_n.jpg

Look how gorgeous that cover is!  I’m now only about a quarter of the way through it but I am completely enthralled.

Last night I got an urge to do a little bookshelf rearranging so I started on my living room shelf which houses a lot of my favorite YA (and a few adult).  Next to this bookshelf I have a huge TBR pile that I have to keep on the floor because I have zero space left on the shelves in my house.  I started out with these few shelves looking like this…

20160724_190304

Excuse the dark bottom right corner.  Our subwoofer covers part of the shelf and blocks the light there. These are the main three shelves that ended up changing.  Not much changed in the top two shelves.

20160724_191450

Jay Kristoff is becoming one of my new favorite authors so I wanted to make room on this shelf for my growing collection of his books.  I have two copies of Nevernight preordered (a US and UK limited edition) and then Gemina also which comes out later this fall.  I don’t think I was able to clear enough space for all three books so there will be some changes made to these shelves again.

20160724_192121

I debated leaving the space open until the books arrive but that will still be a week at least so for now I filled in the space with some other books.

I moved around some of the other shelves to fill in some spots and move others to the TBR pile on the floor.  After all was said and done, I really like how it turned out.  Here is the rearranged TBR pile on the side of the bookshelf.

20160724_200644

And here are the rest of the shelves working my way from the bottom to the top.

20160724_200702

20160724_200714

The only thing different about the shelf with Draco, Snap, Dobby, Neville, and Dumbledore is that I moved Illuminae to the next shelf to create a Jay Kristoff niche and put Truthwitch in its place.

20160724_200738

The only thing different in this shelf, which happens to be the top shelf of the bookcase is that I moved And I Darken by Kiersten White to the bottom shelf, and moved Lost Stars by Claudia Gray to the 3rd shelf and put The Crown’s Game in its place.

Among the TBR pile on the floor I had a few Jane Austen spin-offs/what ifs/retellings so I decided to take those out and keep them all together with others I had on the bottom shelf of our TV season shelf.

20160724_201513

I love seeing them all together in one place!  I have only read a few of these so I am really looking forward to reading the rest and adding more to my collection.

Overall I am very happy with how this rearrange project ended up.  I am a little worried about how I am going to accommodate new releases, especially when they are part of a series I already have.  But I will deal with that when the time comes.  Adding in Empire of Storms and Crooked Kingdom later this fall is going to be an interesting dilemma 🙂

So that was my weekend.  How was yours?

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Weekend Update

  1. Great post! 😀 Love all the pictures of your shelf rearranging! I think in the next couple months I will finally get my new bookshelves, so I can properly rearrange my books. Right now they are just in random places on my shelves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! It was fun. I still really can’t wait until we live in a house that can accommodate all of my shelves in one place so they’re not scattered all over the house. Hopefully I can convince Ethan to let me get new shelves too at that point 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

