Bout of Books 17 Begins!

YKdCOt4

Hey guys! Today is the first day of Bout of Books 17! I am so excited even though I burned myself out a little on reading from doing the Reading Decathlon.  I love participating in the daily challenges.  They’re always so much fun!  Before I dive into today’s challenge, I am going to post my goals for this read-a-thon.  Originally I was also going to post a little TBR but I think right now that would be a mistake for how I’m feeling so I’m just going to go with the flow and read whichever book catches my fancy.

Goals:

  • Read at least 1 book. I know, I know. A little lame but after reading 10 books in 10 days I’m not feeling a huge urge to read at the moment.
  • Participate in at least 3 of the daily challenges.
  • Participate in 1 of the Twitter chats.

And there you have it!  I’m going light on the goals this time around.  Hopefully I’ll get more in the mood for reading as the week goes on but for now I’m just going to keep things super low pressure and simple.


And now for today’s daily challenge!  Book to movie adaptations hosted by Writing My Own Fairy Tale!  We are supposed to include our favorite and least favorite book to movie adaptations.  I absolutely love book to movie adaptations but sometimes they are done so horribly that it might be a little hard to choose just one for my least favorite!  I think the same goes for my favorite too now that I think about it!  So rather than just one of each, I will do 3.

My absolute #1 favorite book to movie adaptation is without a doubt, Gone With the Wind!  I love the book, I love the movie…. Actually, I am obsessed!  I own 3 copies of the movie and 8 copies of the book.20160822_190327

My next favorite would have to be Pride & Prejudice!  I love almost any adaptation of this book, however, my favorite adaptation is actually the 2005 directed by Joe Wright starring Kiera Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen.  I’ve seen this movie probably at least 20 times and it never gets old for me.20160822_190555

My third favorite is book 2 of The Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Two Towers.  I absolutely love this movie!Untitled

My least favorite adaptation of all time has to go to Scarlett, which is technically a TV mini series but I’ve only ever seen it all in one sitting so I’m going to include it here.  I’m not a huge fan of Timothy Dalton to begin with but to go from Clark Gable as Rhett Butler to Timothy Dalton…. No. I do not accept that.  And then Joanne Whaley as Scarlett O’Hara?! Um let me think about that for a second. NO. A lot of Gone With the Wind book fans hate the sequel written by Alexandra Ripley but I actually love it and own several copies of it.73062

 

My second least favorite is Twilight.  Say what you will about the books, but I loved the books for reasons I have explained in past posts.  Unfortunately, the movie adaptation was just awful and awkward.  I remember seeing it in theaters for the first time and just cringing the entire time.20160822_190510

My third least favorite is Interview With the Vampire.  Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise as vampires really does not work out very well.  Same goes for Kirsten Dunst and Antonio Banderas.  Awkward. Cringe-worthy.  I’ve heard that there will possibly be a remake, which would be great unless of course that one turns out terribly, too.


So those are my top 3 favorite and least favorite book to movie adaptations!  What are some of yours?

8 thoughts on “Bout of Books 17 Begins!

  1. Haha…I loved all the Twilight movies, but I am one of those die hard fans. 😉
    I think one book is a good enough goal after the reading week you just had! If I finish one book, I’ll be happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really disliked the film adaptation of The Time Traveler’s Wife. I feel like it was way too rished. I also haven’t seen an adaptation of Austen’s Persuasion I really like yet…

    But I stopped in here to HIGH FIVE you for your remarks on both Gone with the Wind and the miniseries Scarlett. YES. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m excited about Bout of Books. Best of luck to us both on meeting our reading goals. Let me know if I can help you with anything along the way.
    Scarlet… I bought a copy (of the “”movie””) outright hoping for the best… yeeeeahhh… I’m with you on the feelings here. Yikes.
    Happy page turning! Oh, and if you come across a 2016 book by a first-time author, please let me know! – J
    http://jlennidornerblog.what-are-they.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

