Reader Confessions

17ydy560hew0jjpg

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a book tag!  This was actually a really fun one to do.  I was tagged for this one by Ashley @ Socially Awkward Bookworm!  Thanks for the tag, Ash!

QUESTIONS:

Have you ever damaged a book? 

I have damaged a few spines, bent some covers and pages, but all unintentionally.  I also did rip pages out of an old book I had to use the pages for a background to take photos with though.

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

I usually don’t borrow books, mostly because I have my own to read. But when I do borrow books, I always keep them in the condition in which I borrowed them because I know that IF I borrow my books, I would want them to be treated the same way.

How long does it take you to read a book? 

It really depends on the book, to be honest.  I tend to read YA books faster than adult books and contemporary books faster than fantasy or historical fiction books.

Books that you haven’t finished?

I used to try really hard not to DNF books but now, I’ve come to realize that if I get to a certain point and just don’t care about the book, then I will stop reading it. Life is too short and there are too many books for me to continue wasting my time on something I am not interested in reading.  Some of my more recent DNFs include Between Two Fires, The Lightning Thief, and Shatter Me.

Hyped popular books that you don’t like?

I actually just mentioned a couple in the last question.  I really could not get into The Lightning Thief or Shatter Me.  Both books are extremely popular but they just weren’t for me.  I also feel that way about We Were Liars, The Knife of Never Letting Go, and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.  I have a really hard time with the hype monster.  I generally have to wait months after a release to read a book if it is super hyped OR I have to stay away from the blogs and social media entirely so I can read the book right away without the hype affecting my feelings for the book.

Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

Not that I can think of.  I read anywhere and everywhere so people can see what I’m reading all of the time.  I think people should be able to read whatever they want to read without feeling ashamed for their choice.

How many books do you own? 

All together between physical, Kindle, and audiobooks (but not including duplicates) I own a little under 1,400 books.  Definitely a daunting number but I can’t imagine not having the books I own.

Are you a fast reader or a slow reader? 

Again, this depends on the type of book.  I’m a slow reader when it comes to non-fiction, a a fast reader when it comes to YA and contemporaries and a slower-ish reader when it comes to adult historical fiction and fantasy.

Do you like to buddy read?

Yes! It’s so much fun reading with someone else so you can discuss the book as you read!

Do you read better in your head or out loud? 

Without a doubt I read better in my head.  I don’t often read out loud unless I’m reading a story to my goddaughter but I would much rather read in my head than out loud.

If you were only allowed to own one book what one and why? 

Wow…. you’re asking the owner of 1400ish books that I can only choose one?!  What a sick, cruel joke!  I guess if I had to choose one it would be Outlander by Diana Gabaldon because it encompasses so many genres – fantasy, historical fiction, romance, etc.


I tag any of my followers who haven’t done this tag yet!  Go for it!

One thought on “Reader Confessions

  1. The Lightning Thief….*crying*. That still makes me sad that you didn’t like it. The Knife of Never Letting Go too. That’s depressing, although I thought the second book wasn’t as great as the first book at all. So it’s kind of why I haven’t finished the series yet. I’m scared it’ll keep going downhill.
    1400 BOOKS!!!???! MAREN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    We need to buddy read again!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

