A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

26073150A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Published May 3rd 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

624 Pages

Goodreads Summary: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world torn apart.

Review: Before I start the review, a little bit of background.  When I read A Court of Thorns and Roses, I enjoyed it but it wasn’t my favorite.  I really did not like Tamlin and didn’t understand why people were so into his character.  But I knew I wanted to read the next book because it is Sarah J. Maas. So I preordered ACOMAF.  It released in May but I put off reading it until August because once again people were raving about it.  This time, I got the hype.  I really loved this book!  So if I read it in August, why I am only just reviewing it on my blog now…. Well, to be honest I’ve just fallen away from writing book reviews because sometimes they can be so tedious.  Especially if I don’t feel very strongly one way or the other about a book.  In the case of ACOMAF, it was simply the fact that I needed time to fully process my thoughts on the book. But then I forgot about the review… OOPS!  So anyways…. On to the review portion of this post!

While I disliked Tamlin in ACOTAR, I really hated him in ACOMAF.  I couldn’t believe the way he treated Feyre!  So ridiculous that he felt the need to keep her locked up even though she had proven more than once that she can take care of herself.  In fact, my exact words after finishing the book were, “Holy hell! That book just… whoa!  Tamlin, you are officially dead to me.  And Rhysand just proved even more how much I love him!”  Lucien is dead to me as well.

Rhysand… where to even begin with this wonderful character!  He was probably my favorite part of ACOTAR so to see him more fully developed in ACOMAF was awesome!  I love that he has this whole other side to him that he doesn’t show other people except his own.  And all of the heat between him and Feyre… sizzle!

I also really enjoyed Feyre getting out of this funk that Tamlin had put her in.  I liked seeing her become the fierce and independent woman that she was in ACOTAR.

In addition to those four characters, I loved meeting the new characters that are part of Rhysand’s crew.  I especially loved Amren.  She reminded me a bit of Manon from Maas’s Throne of Glass series.  Very tough and fierce but a bit of a soft side.

There were some really great twists in this book too.  Lots of action and drama with a lot to appeal to a wide variety of readers.  I am really looking forward to what happens next in book 3 (and yes, I already have it preordered)!

5 Stars

2 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I listened to the audiobook for A Court of Thorns and Roses after reading this one and it was so weird seeing Tamlin in a new light! I loved him when I read the first book for the first time, but then with Rhysand, I realized that I knew nothing in the first book! I seriously can’t wait until May for the next book … it’s going to be epic!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2016 Read My Books Challenge | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

