Month In Review: November 2016

monthinreview

Well, I have just had what was one of the slowest months of reading I’ve had in a long time.  I only finished one book this month and that was the audiobook re-read of An Ember in the Ashes.  I had planned to read the sequel soon so I wanted to refresh my memory on book 1.  But while I only finished one whole book, I am in the process of reading 3 others and I was able to read a lot of pages between them.

  • Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman – 157 pages read
  • The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis (arc) – 294 pages read
  • A Breath of Snow and Ashes by Diana Gabaldon – 134 pages read

Total print pages read: 585

I was about 60 pages away from finishing The Wolf Road when the Tome Topple Readathon started and I set it to the side to start reading A Breath of Snow and Ashes.  In hindsight, I should have just finished it first but oh well.

We were out of town two weekends in a row this month, both of which would have been prime reading time for the readathon but I just tend not to read much when we’re on vacation.  The first weekend was my birthday!  We went up to Duluth for the weekend.

15073298_10100220086946383_1901418556834859367_n

The second weekend, Thanksgiving weekend, we went back up to the north shore to see my parent’s new condo up on Lake Superior.  It was amazing!  I did a little bit of reading one night when everyone else had gone to bed.

15170874_10100223234309043_3748310411008175841_n

I’m really enjoying the three books that I have been reading though.  A Breath of Snow and Ashes is a beast but I’m slowly making my way through it, savoring every page with Jamie and Claire.


# Books Read in November: 1 audiobook

# Books Read in 2016: 148

# Books Towards Goodreads Goal: 148/110

2016 READ MY BOOKS CHALLENGE UPDATE

# Books Read for 2016 Read My Books in November: 0

# Books Read for 2016 Read My Books YTD: 69/60

Books Read in November:

  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir (audiobook re-read)

So all in all, a pretty slow month compared to what I normally read.  I’m not going to beat myself up over it though.  I recently posted about how I will be taking a low stress/pressure approach to reading next year by cutting my Goodreads goal in half.  Also, if you missed my November book haul yesterday, check it out here!

So that’s it for November!  In December I am going to work on finishing these 3 books as well as read some of the ARCs I have on board that publish next year.

6 thoughts on “Month In Review: November 2016

Leave a Reply

