The Never-Ending TBR Pile

Never-Ending TBRHappy Saturday everybody!  Last night I spent quite a bit of time shelving new books and reshelving books I had previously pulled to get rid of but changed my mind.  Then I decided that I needed wanted to update my home library spreadsheet.  This took quite awhile because I’ve recently started adding more details to the sheet rather than just the title and author.  While I was doing this, I was chatting with Ashley @ Socially Awkward Bookworm about all of the books we own but haven’t read.  I remembered that there was some sort of calculator floating around out there where you could calculate how long it would take you to finish your TBR.  Ashley found it and we had “fun” calculating how long it would take each of us to finish our giant TBR of books we own but haven’t read.  If you’re new to my blog you can check out my page titled My Home Library to get my counts on physical, Kindle and Audible books that I own complete with a link to my spreadsheet.

At this moment in time, I have 522 physical books owned but unread.  I calculated it based on the number of books I read in 2016 and it told me that it would take me 3 years and 4 months to complete! And that is IF I don’t add to that number, which is pretty much impossible for me to do!  Then I entered in my Kindle books and those alone would take me 2 years and 11 months!  Add those together and I get 6 years and 3 months to finish my entire TBR of owned but unread books.  Considering how many new books will be published in the next 6 years, it will only take me longer.

Before I started book blogging I only bought books that I was ready to read immediately.  The majority of my small collection were read.  My vice back then was buying movies.  I owned hundreds of movies and TV seasons.  When I started book blogging, I kept hearing about all of these great books that I wanted to read right away.  But when that number kept growing and I kept buying the books, I gradually started to get overwhelmed and couldn’t keep up with the growth of my collection.  I stopped buying movies and started buying books, books, and more books.  I literally have books in every room of my house except the bathrooms!  Now, this isn’t necessarily a bad problem to have and I’m certainly not complaining.  I find it rather humorous that I find myself with this massive TBR that will probably never shrink down to a manageable level any time soon.  After looking at all of the books I still have to read, at least I have a really good variety of genres to choose from and keep things from getting stale!  I have also mostly updated my TBR jar so I can start using that to help choose from the masses.

Picture_20170107_001635275.jpg


Is your TBR out of control like mine or is yours more manageable?

15 thoughts on “The Never-Ending TBR Pile

  1. Just seeing this headline gives me anxiety! LOL. I can’t even use the calculator because I have no idea how many unread books are on my Kindle and I would have to guess about my physical right now. I’m sure it’s HORRIBLE. Or maybe it could be done if I didn’t read any other books for a couple of years.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It gives me anxiety thinking about all the books I own and will never get the time to read. I’m glad I have such a good variety to choose from. But I know I’ll never get to read them all. When my TBR list on Goodreads starts to get overwhelming, I go in and take books off the list. Otherwise it drives me crazy to have such a huge list. Even though I know I own thousands of books on my Kindle – I don’t have them all listed on my TBR, because that is just asking for an anxiety attack. LOL.

    Like

  3. Oh my Goodness. Someone who understands! I have 200+ physical books unread and 180 unread ebooks. Everyone is always like “Wow, how did that happen?” Um blogging and book hoarding and just being me… haha. I hope you are able to lower your TBR this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Checking out a To-Be-Read Calculator – The Little Book Cottage

  5. Great post! I recently blogged about the size of my TBR and how I want to try and focus on reading my own books this year. I think it’s going to take me around nine years to read my currently owned books (as long as I don’t buy anymore in the next nine years, which is an impossible task!). I’m not sure I’ll ever get to the bottom of my TBR (which currently stands at 1887 books! Eeeek!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

