The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

17199504The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

Published August 20th 2013 by Bloomsbury

466 Pages

Goodreads Summary: The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

The Bone Season introduces a compelling heroine and also introduces an extraordinary young writer, with huge ambition and a teeming imagination. Samantha Shannon has created a bold new reality in this riveting debut.

Review: Oh why didn’t I read this book sooner?! When I first started and saw the chart at the beginning with all of the different types of clairvoyants I was a little overwhelmed and thought it might just be too much, but it wasn’t. This book was so good. I loved the story and the characters.  Paige is so strong and spunky, not ready to roll over and give up.  And Arcturus, aka Warden…. SWOON!  I’m totally adding these two to my SHIP list.  I loved seeing their connection grow throughout the book.  I also loved Paige’s friendships with Julian, Liss, and Nick.  The dystopian world that Shannon created was so fascinating and a little scary if I’m being honest.  I definitely never hope to meet an Emim anywhere.   There was a lot of intensity, especially in the last half of the book.  There were so many chapters where I was literally sitting on the edge of my seat.  The ending was so insane with a cliffhanger that left me totally itching to start book two immediately.  And I’m super glad that book 3 is releasing next month, too!  If you haven’t started this series yet, I definitely recommend that you jump on it ASAP.

5 Stars

9 thoughts on “The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

    • This was one of those books I was really curious about but didn’t expect much from it but I ended up loving so I’m really glad I gave it a shot. I’m about 160 pages in to the sequel and it’s just as intense!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday – February 15, 2017 | The Worn Bookmark

Leave a Reply

