Month In Review: May 2017

monthinreviewMay has turned out to be an awesome month of reading for me!  I ended up reading so much more than I ever thought I would.  I’ve been in an audiobook re-read mood again so I’ve been listening to a lot of books at work lately.  I also read a couple of ARCs this month that I enjoyed.  I think I was most surprised by how much I liked the biography of Daphne du Maurier.  I have never read any of her books but I won an ARC from Goodreads of her biography written by Tatiana de Rosnay.  It was probably the most interesting bio that I have ever read so far and definitely made me want to start reading du Maurier’s books.  I had three books that were that I absolutely loved this month: Strange the Dreamer, A Court of Wings and Ruin, and The Song Rising.  Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor has become a new favorite of mine.

# Books Read in May:  21

# Books Read in 2017: 47 (including 3 DNF)

# Pages Read in May: 9,058 (including audiobooks)

# Pages Read in 2017: 20,072 (including audiobooks)

Books Read in May:

  • The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks (audiobook re-read)
  • Seeking Mansfield by Kate Watson
  • The Choice by Nicholas Sparks (audiobook re-read)
  • A Bend in the Road by Nicholas Sparks (audiobook re-read)
  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (audiobook re-read)
  • Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
  • The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey (audiobook re-read)
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
  • Virgins by Diana Gabaldon
  • A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab
  • Blood of My Blood by Barry Lyga
  • The Young Elites by Marie Lu (audiobook re-read)
  • The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon
  • The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn
  • Manderley Forever by Tatiana de Rosnay
  • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff (audiobook re-read)
  • He Said/She Said by Erin Kelly (DNF @ 68%)
  • Woman No. 17 by Eden Lepucki
  • Song of the Current by Sarah Tolscer
  • The Other Girl by Erica Spindler
  • An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon (audiobook re-read)

I’ve done a lot better this month about not buying many books.  I did decide to join the Book of the Month Club.  They had a cool deal where if you signed up for a 3 month subscription you got a copy of Paula Hawkins’ new book for free.  And as mentioned above, I ended up falling 1000% in love with Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor so I started collecting the different editions.

  • A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
  • Since We Fell by Dennis Lehane
  • Into the Water by Paula Hawkins
  • American War by Omar El Akkad
  • Dark Matter by Blake Crouch
  • The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye (gift from hubby)
  • Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor – signed US first edition
  • Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor – signed UK first edition with blue sprayed edges and doodled title page
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton (giveaway from Samantha Shannon)
  • Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton (giveaway from Samantha Shannon)
  • Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff (ARC from publisher)

How was your month of reading?

18 thoughts on “Month In Review: May 2017

    • Haha total fluke month! I normally read maybe half of that in a month. But I’ll take it lol. I love rereading books! So fun to relive stories, characters and revisit worlds. I read the 8th Outlander book in April and it was so good! I really hope that she can finish book 9 soon because I need it! Lol! I hope you enjoy it when you get a chance to read it!

      Like

  1. 21 books, ahhhhhhhh! That’s pretty freaking amazing! 😀 I really want to try Book of the Month Club. I think once I catch up on the credit cards a bit, I’m going to give it a try. Great haul! You had a pretty awesome month in May.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really like Book of the Month Club. It’s a lot cheaper than the others since you’re not getting a bunch of random things you might not even like and you get a few books to choose from so you’re more likely to get a book you actually want to read. If you end up deciding to give it a try, let me know and I’ll send you my referral link 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

