Not the Kind of Earl You Marry by Kate Pembrooke

55878995

Not the Kind of Earl You Marry by Kate Pembrooke

The Unconventional Ladies of Mayfair #1

Expected Publication: July 27, 2021 by Forever

349 Pages

Goodreads Summary: Fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton series will adore this stunning historical romance debut, where a wary wallflower enters a fake engagement with one of London’s most eligible bachelors.

The one woman in London who doesn’t want to marry him is now his fiancée.

William Atherton, Earl of Norwood, is as shocked as the rest of London to discover his betrothal via an announcement in the morning paper. Furious at what appears to be a shrewd marriage trap, William tracks down his alleged fiancée before her plans can affect his campaign for a coveted political post. But then William realizes an engagement, however fake, may benefit them both…

Miss Charlotte Hurst may be a wallflower, but she’s no shrinking violet. She would never attempt such an underhanded scheme, especially not with a man as haughty or sought-after as Norwood. Yet his suggestion to play along with the betrothal has its merits… and the longer they pretend, the more undeniably real their feelings become. But when the true culprit behind their engagement is revealed, can their newfound happiness survive the scandal?

Review: Ever since I read Jane Austen in high school I have loved Regency period romances. I was so excited when I got this one in the mail from Forever. From the first moment that William and Charlotte met I was hooked. Charlotte is a woman who values her independence in a time when most women had to rely on men to make their way in the world. And at first glance, William appears to be an arrogant, prejudiced man on similar lines to Mr. Darcy. Their first meeting is explosive and rightly so. Hard to imagine how anyone else would have reacted under the circumstances of having your betrothal announced in the morning paper to a man or woman whom you had never met before. When they both agreed to move forward pretending that they were in fact engaged, I knew it was going to be good. I really enjoyed that Charlotte continued to be her own person throughout the charade of their engagement and working to help her new friends make new homes and jobs for war widows. There were many delightful secondary characters in this book that I am hoping will make appearances in future books in this series. While the story and outcome was a little predictable, there were many moments that made this book it’s own. I am already eagerly anticipating the second book in this new series. This book is perfect for fans of Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen and The Duke & I by Julia Quinn (first season of Bridgerton on Netflix). This book comes out tomorrow so make sure you check it out!

4 Stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Not the Kind of Earl You Marry by Kate Pembrooke

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s