To Marry and to Meddle by Martha Waters

To Marry and to Meddle by Martha Waters

The Regency Vows #3

Published April 5th 2022 by Atria Books

336 Pages

Goodreads Summary: Lady Emily Turner has been a debutante for six seasons now and should have long settled into a suitable marriage. However, due to her father’s large debts, her only suitor is the persistent and odious owner of her father’s favorite gambling house. Meanwhile, Lord Julian Belfry, the second son of a marquess, has scandalized society as an actor and owner of a theater—the kind of establishment where men take their mistresses, but not their wives. When their lives intersect at a house party, Lord Julian hatches a plan to benefit them both.

With a marriage of convenience, Emily will use her society connections to promote the theater to a more respectable clientele and Julian will take her out from under the shadows of her father’s unsavory associates. But they soon realize they have very different plans for their marriage—Julian wants Emily to remain a society wife, while Emily discovers an interest in the theater. But when a fleeing actress, murderous kitten, and meddlesome friends enter the fray, Emily and Julian will have to confront the fact that their marriage of convenience comes with rather inconvenient feelings.

With “an arch sense of humor and a marvelously witty voice that rivals the best of the Regency authors” (Entertainment Weekly), Martha Waters crafts another fresh romantic comedy that for fans of Julia Quinn and Evie Dunmore.

Review: I’m a big fan of regency era romances and I enjoyed the first two books in this series so I was really looking forward to reading book 3. I’ve liked Emily and Julian from the earlier books so I was happy to see them get their own book. Emily and Julian decide to enter into a marriage of convenience. Julian needs Emily’s golden reputation and Emily needs Julian’s help paying her father’s gambling debts. The banter between them was pure gold, especially on their wedding night when a stray kitten throws a bit of a wrench in their evening plans. I was laughing out loud basically during every scene that featured Cecil Lucifer Beelzebub and Julian. There were so many comedic moments in this book and there were also some very heartwarming moments as well. Julian had a bit of a strained relationship with his father because of the theater he owns. His father never approved. But with Emily’s help, his father comes around to support Julian and it really just hit me in the feels. This book was basically everything I hoped it would be. There were a few slow moments but overall, I loved it and definitely recommend it.

4.5 Stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Not the Kind of Earl You Marry by Kate Pembrooke

55878995

Not the Kind of Earl You Marry by Kate Pembrooke

The Unconventional Ladies of Mayfair #1

Expected Publication: July 27, 2021 by Forever

349 Pages

Goodreads Summary: Fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton series will adore this stunning historical romance debut, where a wary wallflower enters a fake engagement with one of London’s most eligible bachelors.

The one woman in London who doesn’t want to marry him is now his fiancée.

William Atherton, Earl of Norwood, is as shocked as the rest of London to discover his betrothal via an announcement in the morning paper. Furious at what appears to be a shrewd marriage trap, William tracks down his alleged fiancée before her plans can affect his campaign for a coveted political post. But then William realizes an engagement, however fake, may benefit them both…

Miss Charlotte Hurst may be a wallflower, but she’s no shrinking violet. She would never attempt such an underhanded scheme, especially not with a man as haughty or sought-after as Norwood. Yet his suggestion to play along with the betrothal has its merits… and the longer they pretend, the more undeniably real their feelings become. But when the true culprit behind their engagement is revealed, can their newfound happiness survive the scandal?

Review: Ever since I read Jane Austen in high school I have loved Regency period romances. I was so excited when I got this one in the mail from Forever. From the first moment that William and Charlotte met I was hooked. Charlotte is a woman who values her independence in a time when most women had to rely on men to make their way in the world. And at first glance, William appears to be an arrogant, prejudiced man on similar lines to Mr. Darcy. Their first meeting is explosive and rightly so. Hard to imagine how anyone else would have reacted under the circumstances of having your betrothal announced in the morning paper to a man or woman whom you had never met before. When they both agreed to move forward pretending that they were in fact engaged, I knew it was going to be good. I really enjoyed that Charlotte continued to be her own person throughout the charade of their engagement and working to help her new friends make new homes and jobs for war widows. There were many delightful secondary characters in this book that I am hoping will make appearances in future books in this series. While the story and outcome was a little predictable, there were many moments that made this book it’s own. I am already eagerly anticipating the second book in this new series. This book is perfect for fans of Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen and The Duke & I by Julia Quinn (first season of Bridgerton on Netflix). This book comes out tomorrow so make sure you check it out!

4 Stars

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.